CMU LibGuides: Economics: 73-155: Markets, Models and Math: Start

Industry Data Sources

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable! Hover over Reports and select Industry & Market Reports.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, and more! Some historic industry data in Key Statistics section of reports.

BLS Industries at a Glance
workforce, compensation, prices, establishments, trends.

Systema Naturae Wildlife Datasets
An open access data repository and index of data about wildlife on Earth. You can filter by wildlife type, geography of interest, and more.
Global Biodiversity Information Facility Datasets
The GBIF provides open access datasets about all types of life on Earth. You can filter by geography and other criteria of interest.

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citations with full-text links for economics research from all types of publications. Search for keywords of interest (e.g., "open source software" OR crowdsourcing).
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Citations with full-text links for business, industry, and economics research for app types of publications. Search for keywords of interest (e.g., "new production techniques"). Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available), including Economics!

The Journal of Economic Perspectives
Specific econ journal that "aims to bridge the gap between the general interest business and financial press and standard academic journals of economics."

World Inequality Database (WID)
Most extensive available data series on the world distribution of income and wealth. Sourced by a team of economists including T. Piketty.
FRED - Economic Data from the Federal Reserve
822,000 economic data time series from 114 national, international, public, and private sources. Consider exploring different "Categories" to help limit data. For example, Income Distribution, Minimum Wage, and Labor Market Conditions.
Total Economy Database (TED)
From the Conference Board - annual data on GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for 123 countries. Requires free account.
ILOSTAT from the International Labour Organization
A global reference and database for international labor statistics. Includes labor data for 200 countries from 1969-present.

Statista This link opens in a new window
highly findable and usable stats on markets, industries, companies, and more. Also data-centered reports, fully downloadable. Search "income inequality" to get great info.
World DataBank This link opens in a new window
5 huge databases from the World Bank with financial and demographic info on all countries. Create your own queries, generate tables, and more. Best to watch the tutorial first. Check out the topic on Poverty.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Reports and data on international economics, development, employment, and more from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. Use the Browse by Theme option or search "income inequality" to narrow results.
Mergent Economics This link opens in a new window
over 1,000 economics datasets covering retail, housing, trade, commodities, banking, energy, industry and other indicators. Use the "Analysis" tab to limit to income indicators.

Contact:

109C Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
4909 Frew Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

(412) 268-2453

Subjects: Business, Careers, CMU Campuses Outside of Pittsburgh, Economics, Management, Reference