CMU LibGuides: Economics: 73-270: Professional Communication for Economists: Start

This Guide

will help you find the best information to support your research project. See the tabs at the top for more ideas.

Citing Your Sources

Tell the world where you got your excellent information (and stay out of trouble:-))

APA Citation Help:

Purdue OWL APA - Citation help
The good people at Purdue explain in detail here how to cite all kinds of sources.
Citation Machine
This is an automatic citation-maker, used by many schools and students
Be aware of the CMU plagiarism policy.

More Economics Research

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
working papers and datasets from the nation's leading nonprofit economic research organization
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
early research results through working papers and forthcoming papers in either abstract or full-text format
Research Papers in Economics (REPEC)
international database of working papers, journal articles and software components
Fed in Print
economic research published by analysts at Federal Reserve banks

Articles & Trade Journals

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
covers all kinds of business and economics periodicals and reports; for scholarly articles, check "peer-reviewed" under the search box.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
electronic form of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) providing citations and abstracts for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Central resource for articles and documents on all aspects of education. Contains citations, abstracts, and some full text. Database Guide

Some Economics Data Sources

US Census Data
Portal to detailed American data from the US Census Bureau.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, with links to original sources for more depth.

World DataBank This link opens in a new window
economic, social and environmental indicators, from the World Bank and its partner agencies, covering 209 countries. Select a database at bottom of page.

More data sources

Companies & Investors

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
US and foreign companies. 15 years of financial data, M&A, SEC filings, historical stock prices, and equity reports. Annual reports from 1997.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Private company financials, private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
Database of private companies, investors activities, and deals information. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).

Industry Overviews

Find market size, industry leaders, statistics, current status, future trends, histories and profiles of the industries here. If you look up the NAICS codes for your industry first, this will be a bit easier.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports with data, trends, segmentation, market share, and primary companies.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports specializing in advanced materials, biotech, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotech, and other emerging technologies. NOTE: When off-campus, use VPN access.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.

Use of this resource is only for academic research purposes .
Gartner Core Research This link opens in a new window
Analysis and forecasting for information technology products and services. (Note: Dataquest reports are not in our subscription).