LibGuides: Psychology: 85-310: Research Methods in Cognitive Psychology: Start

Helpful Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
1956-2017. Produced by the American Psychological Association, full text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." - About Google Scholar
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

Data Services & Research Curation Office Hours

Consultations are offered in-person and over Zoom and might include but are not limited to the following:

Connecting your data analysis problems with an external consultant, or finding datasets to work on.
Finding, creating, and working with data, including data management, data mining & data modeling, and statistical analysis.
Learning about the availability of tools and platforms on campus, such as ArcGIS (GIS data), Tableau (data visualization), Open Science Framework, and others. Showing you how to work with experimental digital methods.
Connecting you to resources for self-teaching or the local networks of Digital Humanities and Digital Scholarship practitioners at CMU Helping you brainstorm, scope, and begin planning a project.
Evaluating and offering advice on the display of visual content, such as presentations, poster designs, and web design.
Providing feedback on your dataset, data management plan, project design, and code.

Useful Resource for Accessing Articles

The LibKey Nomad browser extension provides one-click access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web and in databases. Find information on how to install here.

Librarian

Emily Bongiovanni

She/Her

Subjects: Open Educational Resources, Psychology, Publishing, Research Data Management, Scholarly Communication