Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Policy Think Tanks
Policy File Index
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tank" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Database Guide
CQ Press Library
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Database Guide
CQ Researcher plus Archive
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide
Citations with full-text links for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni)
International database: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, reports, blogs, case law, government documents, broadcasts, and more. Update: LexisNexis Academic has been replaced with Nexis Uni.
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Political Science Database
1985 - current. Access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles. Over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Database Guide
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
PoliticoPro is a leading source of timely policy news and analysis. It covers 15 overarching industry areas including Agriculture, Budget and Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Employment & Immigration, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Tax, Technology, Trade and Transportation. Features include:
- Morning Newsletters on each of the above industry sector homepages that give those interested in specific areas a daily look-ahead as to the key areas driving the day in these sectors. Newsletters are housed on each policy areas homepage. Go to the PoliticoPro Newsletter page to sign up for email alerts.
- Whiteboard news alerts on each policy sector’s homepage that provide a chronological timeline of recent policy news as well as long-form.
- Documents with an intuitive search feature to find relevant and timely primary sources, including Dear Colleague letters, CBO and Congressional Research Service Reports, etc..
- The Calendar provides up to date information about policy events in Washington including Hill hearings, think tanks events
A leading news source for foreign affairs. Reviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
ProQuest International Newsstream
ca. 2000-present. Exact dates vary by title. News content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades. Includes 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Access to Wall Street Journal Online
Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones)
Articles in major US business newspaper through the WSJ platform
. Content includes 4 years of rolling backfiles. CMU affiliates must create an initial account using your CMU Andrew email address
. Then you can also download the WSJ app and login there for access too. Historical issues through ProQuest (1851-2006) are here
, and Wall Street Journal Online
articles are here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are here
. Other editions are also available. Type wall street journal
in the Publication Browse
to see options.