Most of our resources are digital but you can browse our Catalog to find both digital and print options for books, manuals, handbooks, and more. If you don't know exactly what you are looking for, try doing a key word search. If you can find what you are looking for, email an engineering librarian at reference@cmu.libanswers.com or use our inter-library loan service to get a PDF or book from another institution.
To find more dictionaries, including print options, do a keyword search, for example, "medical dictionary" or "biotechnology dictionaries" in our Catalog.
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
For print encyclopedias, check our Catalog or try browsing the "R" and "RS" section in the Sorrells Engineering & Science Library book stacks. Here, are some online options:
This is a "reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information. AccessEngineering also comprises dynamic online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work." AccessEngineering includes the well-known Schaum's Outline series of books. Database Guide.
The McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology on the web, provides full access to articles, dictionary terms, and hundreds of research updates in all areas of science and technology.
Compendium of articles on biotechnology, chemistry, computer science, engineering, mathematics, molecular biology, physics and robotics.
Benchmark reference in chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering containing nearly 1000 major articles by experts from leading chemical companies or research institutes.
