University Archives

• Identify your research question and research goals.
  • What type of information do you need?
  • What type of document might house that information?
  • Who would have created or collected that type of information?
• Check out our finding aids or collection inventories to determine if the University Archives has the information you are looking for.
  • Not sure what a finding aid is, check out "How to find materials" in this guide.
• Not sure where to start? Contact us for a virtual or in-person research consultation. 
• Ready to visit? Contact the Archives to schedule a research appointment.
  • When you contact us, please provide a list of collections and boxes you are interested in accessing. Many of our collections are stored offsite and can take 48 hours to retrieve.
  • Let us know your research goals - we may know about additional resources.  

Here are a few tips and policies to keep in mind when you visit the University Archives.

• Make sure you allow enough time to conduct your research - we recommend a MINIMUM of 1 hour.
  • Archival research usually takes longer than you expect it to.
  • Allow time for boxes to be retrieved for you.
• You will not be allowed to eat or drink in the archive
• Please bring pencils, not pens
• You are allowed to use a laptop
• You may take photographs of collection materials for your personal research use
• You may be asked to store your bag and jacket while using the archive
• Folders labeled "Miscellaneous" are almost always worth looking through
• Don't forget to bring your curiosity and ASK QUESTIONS!