Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Google Dataset Search
Try Google's dataset search. Search the web for datasets on any topic.
Commercial data aggregators
The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
More than 5,000 datasets presented in 2+ billion views of data (maps, trends, tables, rankings). The datasets are sourced from reputable public and private organizations and cover topics across 16 broad subject areas, including education, population and income, industry, commerce, trade, housing and construction, and much more. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and are described with 37 fields of metadata. (Carengie Mellon users only)
ProQuest Statistical Insight
is a multi-disciplinary statistics database that indexes statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
RAND State Statistics
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
United States Statistical Sources
FedStats provides links to more than 100 statistical agencies of the United States government. The content and web interfaces are maintained by the individual agencies.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau site is the primary source for Census 2000 data. Much of the data can be manipulated online and the results downloaded. In addition, the Census Bureau provides population estimates and projections, economic statistics, government finance data, and much more.
Population Reference Bureau
PRB provides instant summaries, both graphically and in text, of the demographic features of the U.S. population. Data can be customized by users on such topics as population estimates and projections, race and ethnicity, migration, income and poverty, the elderly population, and more. The data also may be downloaded.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The US government's body for the collection and dissemination of data on employment, wages, productivity, occupations, prices, etc.
Local and Regional Data
Western PA Regional Data Center
"The Data Center maintains Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh’s open data portal, and provides a number of services to data publishers and users. The Data Center also hosts datasets from these and other public sector agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations."
Allegheny County Analytics
Provided by the Allegheny Country Dept of Human Services, this portal provides data sets, publications, visualizations and more to support data analytics for topics related to populations and services in Allegheny County.
Allegheny County GIS Open Data
For spatial data sets related to Allegheny County, including a broad range of topic areas from health and social services to business and the environment.
Open Data Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania's open data portal. Provides access to data at the state and county level across a broad range of topics.
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.
A U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications. Useful for social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Includes thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level.