Articles - English: Program - English Studies - CMU LibGuides at Carnegie Mellon University

Core Databases

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here, you'll find a list of major databases that contain full-text and/or citations for a variety of journals relevant to English. These are good starting points for research in various areas related to English studies:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles and has extensive coverage of the sciences, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects - authoritative and comprehensive.

Book Review Index
is a comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new window
supplies biographical and bibliographical information and references on over 120,000 American and international authors.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
is a searchable full text database of over 95,000 titles published between 1475 and 1700. Over 125,000 titles anticipated (new titles are added each year). Searchable by author, title, subject & imprint information.
Electronic Collections Online (ECO - from OCLC/First Search)
provides citation and full-text access to academic journals in many disciplines. Can limit search to language and literature journals via the pull-down menu.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
has full-text access (with a search interface) to important academic journals, including 80 language and literature journals.

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
provides indexing and abstracting of 1199 international journals in linguistics and language use from 1973 to the present. An important source for researchers in language teaching, linguistics, discourse studies, computer science, psychology, and more.
Literature Resource Center
provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors. Our licence allows only one user at a time. Be sure to log-out when you are done.
MLA International Bibliography
is the premiere reference tool for the critical study of language, literature, and folklore. It provides citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.

Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
provides 100% full-text access to university press journals and over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers.

Proquest Direct
provides convenient search and retrieval from thousands of publications. Many articles are in full-text and image format.
Wilson Web
contains the full text of the articles from various biographical reference books published by H. W. Wilson in current affairs, history, literature, children's literature, music, film, and art. The biographies are enhanced with recent citations from H.W. Wilson's Biography Index and with citations and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest (Current Biography does not contain the citations and abstracts from Humanities Abstracts and Book Review Digest).

Specialized Databases

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

These databases contain primary documents and tend to be more specialized:

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and display the text of 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers. Most of the newspapers are from England, Ireland, and Scotland, with a handful from the British colonies in the Americas and Asia. Examples of newspapers included are: British Journal, British Chronicle, Evening Post, General Advertiser, Hoey’s Dublin Mercury, London Chronicle, London Morning Penny Post, Original Weekly Journal, Whitehall Evening Post.
19th Century British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full text of 48 (forty-eight) 19th century newspapers from England, Scotland, and Ireland.
Eight Centuries This link opens in a new window
19th Century Masterfile is a vast "Index of Indexes", and is the largest resource for historical research prior to 1925. It brings together over 60 subject indexes to: Periodicals;Newspapers;Books;US Congressional Record
US and UK Government Documents; and US Patents.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With this database, you can search and display pages from 500 U. S. newspapers from the 19 th century. Some examples of the newspapers included are: New York Herald (NY) Lynchburg Virginian (VA) The Hawaiin Gazette (HI) Rocky Mountain News (CO) Southern Illustrated News (VA) Daily Inter Ocean( Chicago) Milwaukee Sentinel (WI).
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
contains images of every page of some 150,000 books published during the 18th century. Fulltext searching enables access to approximately 26 million pages of primary information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
is a comprehensive digital collection for the study of early economic, political, business, and social history, and for researching the literature of economics from this period.
Medieval Family Life This link opens in a new window
provides full color images of the original medieval manuscripts of 5 15th century families: Paston, Cely, Plumpton, Stonor, and Armburgh. The collection's full text can be searched and viewed with the original images of the transcripts simultaneously. The database includes tools that are useful for teaching such as a visual gallery, an interactive map, and more.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
consists of works about the North, Central & South America, the Arctic & Antarctica and the West Indies, published not only in the United States but internationally. This resource offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition. It also covers such topics as American women, cities and states, the Civil War, immigration and politics, etc.

Finding More Journals

IMPORTANT NOTE: IP authentication required

Here are some major titles relevant to various aspects of English studies:

Callaloo (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Configurations (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Diacritics (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Eighteenth-Century Life (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Eighteenth-Century Studies (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Exemplaria (preprints)
Modernism/Modernity (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Philosophy and Literature (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Perforations
Postmodern Culture

If you know the title of the journal, then you can search to see if it is available online and if the article is also available. Online journals vary in availability, so be sure to check listed dates.

In addition, you can get a list of e-journals by category. You'll find Linguistics, Philosophy, Society and Culture, etc. under "Art and Humanities". Be sure to also look at "Social Sciences, where you'll find categories such as Gender Studies, Political Science, and Sociology.

Begin here:

e-Journals
use this to see what journals we have electronically. This looks at all our electronic databases and subscriptions and finds where a particular title is held. Be sure you check the dates listed. Sometimes there are a few options - and very occasionally one of them doesn't work - so do try the others in that case.

English: Program - English Studies: Articles

Core Databases

Specialized Databases

Finding More Journals