CMU LibGuides: 38-132/66-132 DC Grand Challenge First-Year Seminar: Health in Unhealthy Times: Finding Scholarly Resources

On this page, you'll find links to many databases and search tools to find peer-reviewed and other scholarly research and information. Many of these resources are made available via the CMU Libraries subscriptions. You'll also find guidance on how to construct an effective database search.

Multi-disciplinary Databases and Search Engines

Scopus
Large, academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a scholarly search engine that searches across many scholarly sources including journals, university repositories, books, and more.
Keenious
Keenious is a resource recommender tool designed to aid in the identification and discovery of scholarly research. It analyzes writing from text documents and PDFs to recommend the most relevant articles and topics to explore using artificial intelligence combined with conventional search algorithms. For more information, visit this guide.

Health, Psychology and Medicine

PubMed
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PsycINFO
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
Public Health Database
"ProQuest Public Health is a new and unique database; designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text." - web site description. Database Guide

Policy, Economics and Culture

ABI/INFORM Collection
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
EconLit
Citations with full-text links for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
GenderWatch
Full text publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.
PAIS Index
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Policy File Index
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tanks" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).
Project MUSE
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
Women's Studies Archive
Bringing women's stories to light, the Archive connects archival collections concerning women's history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women's political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women's voices, from female-authored literature to women's periodicals.

Other Public Health Resources

Centers for Disease Control
The CDC conducts extensive research and health surveys, tracks disease and public health trends and provides health information to improve and protect the health of people in the United States. You will find up to date information on public health issues and disease outbreaks.
CDC: Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
This is the CDC's "primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations."
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease
One of the National Institutes of Health, this institute focuses on research of infectious disease and allergies.
World Health Organization
The leading governing body for global health matters. Part of the United Nations, WHO provides research, statistics and policy recommendations on health around the world.

Searching Databases

Most databases allow the use of AND, OR and NOT to broaden or narrow and search.

AND will narrow the search to include only records with both terms.
OR with broaden the search to include records with either term.
NOT will narrow the search to exclude records with one of the terms.

Truncation: You can use an * at the end of a word stem to broaden your search to include related terms. For example, to search for depressive, depressed or depression use the search term depress*

Putting quotes "" around words allows you to search for a phrase. For example, searching mental health without quotes, finds records with both the word 'mental' and 'health' somewhere in the record. Searching "mental health", with quotes, only find records with the phrase "mental health".

Example: How has the Covid-19 pandemic affected mental health and well-being?

Search strategy in Web of Science platform

NOTE: When you begin doing advanced searching in a new database, look for the Search Help or Information sections to determine how that database works, and how it may differ from other databases with which you are familiar.

38-132/66-132 DC Grand Challenge First-Year Seminar: Health in Unhealthy Times

Social Sciences Librarian