Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic vocabulary and descriptions
Descripción de profesiones
To find specific professional associations in individual countries, do a Google search using keywords such as
asociaciones profesionales +
medicina, chimia, finacieros, etc. +
chile, el salvador, espana, etc.
Tips for improving Google search Results:
* Use Spanish search terms, e.g. "ingenieros latinoamerican@s"
* Use Advanced Search to set language to Spanish
* Use Advanced Search to limit by domain (e.g. .edu or .org)
* Try starting at the website of an organization (e.g. company, university, theater)
Index to scholarly journals from Latin America in all subject areas.
Ethnic and minority magazines and newspapers, 1959-present. Database Guide
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers.
Latin America & Iberia Database
Full-text academic journal that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Includes non-English language publications. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities. Database Guide
Literature Resource Center
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
Marquis Who's Who
Profiles of 1.4 million accomplished individuals worldwide, from all fields: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Current and historical.
MLA International Bibliography
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folklore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
World Folklore and Folklife
Collections of folktales and information on folklife (rituals, beliefs, traditional arts and crafts, food, etc.) for countries around the world. Text is in English, but bibliographies at the end of each article list some foreign-language materials.
If you want a more comprehensive list, go to the library's website and click on Research Databases, then search by subject. Here are some relevant categories:
The general Research Guide for Spanish has additional sources you might want to review. You can also find more information on these sources from the Research Guides. Use the "Subject" filter to get a list of relevant subject guides.
What Else Do I Need To Know?
If you're connected remotely, read Connecting from off-Campus
If you need an article or book that Carnegie Mellon doesn't have, request it from our free Interlibrary Loan service (ILLiad). If you've never used it, you will need to register (one time only while you have active status at CMU). Articles are usually delivered electronically.