LibGuides: Programming Languages and Software Training Resources for Tepper &amp; Heinz: Home

University Libraries support and training

University Libraries Workshops
The Libraries' workshops – which are offered by the Libraries each semester on a variety of topics – are designed to help attendees learn a new skill, deepen their understanding of a specific topic, or gain exposure to an unfamiliar technology, tool, or technique. Explore our workshop calendar to register for workshop on data visualization, data management, R, Python and more.
Data Services Consultations
The CMU Libraries' Research Data Services team is comprised of experts in many areas of data. We offer one-on-one consultations to help with data management, data sharing, data analysis and more.

Online self-paced courses, training and other resources

Sage Campus This link opens in a new window
Sage Campus provides access to a growing collection of online courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email address. If you are an instructor, please contact Sarah Young to upgrade your account in order to manage student cohorts.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning provides thousands of training videos and tutorials covering web languages, online technologies, website best practices and more. Carnegie Mellon University students, faculty and staff members have unlimited access to the entire library.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of best-selling, top-rated IT, computing, technology and business books by leading authors. Database Guide

R

R for Data Science by Garrett Grolemund; Hadley Wickham
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Learn how to use R to turn raw data into insight, knowledge, and understanding. This book introduces you to R, RStudio, and the tidyverse, a collection of R packages designed to work together to make data science fast, fluent, and fun. Suitable for readers with no previous programming experience.
Ggplot2 by Hadley Wickham
Publication Date: 2010-02-22
Provides both rich theory and powerful applications Figures are accompanied by code required to produce them Full color figures

Introduction to R Video Playlist
This series of short videos from CMU Libraries walks you through the full content of the Introduction to R lesson.
Data Visualization with R Video Playlist
This series of short videos from CMU Libraries walks you through the full content of the Data Visualization with R lesson.
R Cheatsheets
There are numerous 'cheat sheets' developed for commonly used packages that can serve as useful references while coding.
R Color Cheatsheet
Finding the best colors for your plots and visualizations in R can be challenging. This handy cheat sheet gives you the names of the many color options available.
The R Graph Gallery
The R Graph Gallery is a useful resource for exploring the many different ways of visualizing data in R. It points you to useful R packages for creating different types of plots and graphs.
RStudio Education
RStudio is a commonly used software environment for programming the R language. RStudio Education offers useful learning tools and resources to get started with R and RStudio.
swirl
swirl teaches you R programming and data science interactively, at your own pace, and right in the R console.
Introduction to R (SAGE Campus Course)
You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right corner using your CMU email address.
Practical Data Management with R (SAGE Campus Course)
You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right corner using your CMU email address.
Interactive Visualization with R
You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right corner using your CMU email address.

Python

Data Analysis with Python for Excel Users (Academic Video Online)
Software Carpentry Progamming with Python
Introduction to Python (O'Reilly Course)
Python Fundamentals (O'Reilly Course)
Python Programming Language (O'Reilly Course)
Introduction to Python (SAGE Campus Course)
You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right corner using your CMU email address.
Intermediate Python Skills (SAGE Campus Course)
You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right corner using your CMU email address.

SQL

Tableau

Excel

Business & Economics Librarian

Ryan Splenda

Contact:

109C Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
4909 Frew Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

(412) 268-2453

Subjects: Business, CMU Campuses Outside of Pittsburgh, Economics, Management, Reference

Liaison Librarian

Sarah Young

Contact:

Hunt Library, Rm 109G

412-268-7384

Subjects: Information Systems, Political Science, Public Policy, Reference, Social & Decision Sciences, Statistics

Data 101 Resource Guide

Data 101

The Data 101 Resource Guide provides an overview of library support and resources related to using, finding, visualizing and managing your data throughout the research process.

Data Office Hours

Do you have data-related questions or need help with a data project? We are here to help!

The University Libraries offer Data Services and Research Consultations! These office hours provide in-person or virtual consultations to students, staff, faculty, and researchers in Pittsburgh. Library specialists are available to help at any point across the research data lifecycle, which includes data collecting, cleaning, structuring and integration, data management, data analysis, coding in R and Python, data sharing, and scholarly communications. Book an in-person consultation or virtual appointment!