CMU LibGuides: The Age of Austen, 76-341: Citations

MLA Style

MLA Handbook Plus

The go-to resource for writers of humanities research papers and anyone citing sources is now available online through institutional subscriptions. MLA Handbook Plus includes the full text of the ninth edition of the handbook, the second editions of both the MLA Guide to Digital Literacy and the MLA Guide to Undergraduate Research in Literature, as well as video courses.
Zotero
This free tool enables you to manage your research, store it, annotate it, organize it, cite as you write with thousands of citation styles, and more (see Tool Guide).
Also try ZoteroBib - a free service to help you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. If you need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research library, we recommend using Zotero instead.

Citing ebooks

Citations for e-books closely resemble those for physical books. Simply indicate that the book in question is an e-book by putting the term "e-book" in the "version" slot of the MLA template (i.e., after the author, the title of the source, the title of the container, and the names of any other contributors).

Example Ebook Citation:

Silva, Paul J. How to Write a Lot: A Practical Guide to Productive Academic Writing. E-book, American Psychological Association, 2007.

Example Formatted Ebook Citation:

Machiavelli, Niccolo. The Prince, translated by W. K. Marriott, Kindle ed., Library of Alexandria, 2018.

If the e-book is formatted for a specific reader device or service, you can indicate this by treating this information the same way you would treat a physical book's edition number. Often, this will mean replacing "e-book" with "[App/Service] ed."
The MLA considers the term "e-book" to refer to publications formatted specifically for reading with an e-book reader device (e.g., a Kindle) or a corresponding web application. These e-books will not have URLs or DOIs. If you are citing book content from an ordinary webpage with a URL, use the "A Page on a Web Site" format.

Quicker Article Access

If you're tired of running into paywalls or manually entering in interlibrary loan information for articles, try these methods:

Put a DOI (document identifier) number into our Libraries Catalog
Click "Expand results beyond CMU Libraries"
Click "check for available services" on your article
Sign in to your library account
Click the ILLiad button, and your request form will be autofilled
Click submit request

Or, Use the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension

LibKey Nomad
A browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages.

Click the LibKey nomad button to find the article
Click Sign In on Libraries Catalog page
Click ILLiad to go to a pre-filled interlibrary loan form
Submit form