A Guide to Gale Archives Unbound: International Relations Collection

This collection collects internal documents of the CND, such as its constitution, policy, committee and council minutes, accounting records, reports, annual conference papers, campaign records, Easter March papers, and correspondence, from 1958 to 1972.

This collection collects internal documents of the CND from 1973 to 1980, such as its constitution, policy, committee and council minutes, accounting records, reports, annual conference papers, campaign and demonstration papers, and correspondence, as well as its pamphlets and serials from 1958 to 1980.

This collection collects internal documents of the CND from 1981 to 1985, such as its national council minutes, committee records, annual conference papers, demonstration and campaign papers, minutes of regional groups, as well as external documents such as local group newsletters, and pamphlets and serials for the same period.

This collection collects internal documents of the CND from 1985 to 1990, such as its national council minutes, committee records, the Trade Union CND papers, other affiliated group's papers, as well as external documents such as local group newsletters. In addition it contains speeches and articles by Bruce Kent from 1981-1989. Bruce Kent was the CND's general secretary from 1980-1985 and chair from 1987-1990.

This collection consists of the minute books and early papers, including: General Committee minutes; Executive Committee minutes; records of the Literature Committee; the Propaganda Committee; the Christian Pacifist Management Committee; the World War One Committee; the Post-World War One Committee; and other documents. This collection documents the formation of the FOR, and gives a detailed record of its role during WWI, and its views on such key issues as conscription, appeasement and disarmament.

This extensive and carefully preserved archive of the World Peace Movement contains a considerable body of printed matter detailing the activities of War Resisters' International (WRI). The WRI was created in 1921 at a meeting of British, Dutch, German and Austrian pacifists at The Hague. Active in 64 countries, the WRI has been prominent for more than 50 years in opposition to every form of war and organized violence, regardless of the policy objectives of the proponents of war. The collection includes: the minutes of council meetings from 1926, and the executive committee since 1956, together with the international minutes since 1956, as well as WRI pamphlets held in its archive, all its bulletins from 1923, its newsletter, its secretary's report, the file of press releases and its major journal War Resister.

This collection provides a unique opportunity to read the recollections of many of the players in the Cold War. These transcripts of oral recollections will assist scholars in understanding the motivations for conflict and conciliation.

The Dean Gooderham Acheson (1893ñ1971) papers are a rich source of information on the policies, thoughts, and accomplishments of the secretary of state who guided American foreign policy from 1948-1953. The papers, which span the period 1898-1978, are especially full for the period after Acheson left public office in 1953 until his death in 1971.

The Global War on Terrorism assembles research studies that analyze the goals and strategies of global terrorism. Theses studies, reports, and analyses were conducted by governmental agencies, and private organizations under contract with the Federal government. They represent the most rigorous and authoritative research on the global war on international and domestic terrorism. The documents in this collection are diverse in scope and emphasis. They dissect specific terrorist events, explore the goals beyond the violence, illuminate the psychology of terrorism, trace the origins and development of terrorist movements, particularly al-Queda, compare state-sponsored and independent terrorist activities, and address the formidable problem of developing feasible counterterrorist measures and polices.

This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

The documents in this substantial collection are drawn from major archival holdings and provide a rich sample of a half- century of Russian-American relations. They present to students of international affairs the raw material from which historical conclusions may be drawn on the most significant rivalry between two nations of the twentieth century.

This collection reproduces the transcripts of all the press conferences held by the U.S. secretaries of state from Charles Evan Hughes (1862ñ1948; 44th Secretary of State, 1921ñ1925) through Henry Kissinger (b. 1923; 56th Secretary of State, 1973ñ1977). These conferences are an important record of official U.S. foreign policy and its global influence from the interwar years to the Cold War and dÈtente.

This collection includes Nazi records on resettlement kept or collected by the Deutsches Ausland-Institut (German Foreign Institute, DAI), Stuttgart, seized from the Axis Powers during and after WWII. These records are most valuable in documenting the implementation and modification of National Socialist race doctrine. Included are records of resettlement negotiations and agreements with the Russians, Rumanians, and Italians and records describing the treatment and attitudes of all kinds of resettlers. In addition the collection throws light on the conflict between diverse SS agencies as well as between the SS and other agencies of Party and State. In fact, it documents nearly all aspects of resettlement, not least through the untranslatable language in which this project in demographic engineering was conducted.

This collection of RKFDV records seized from the Axis Powers, covers primarily the records of the Chief Staff Office (Stabshauptamt). Some records of other offices of the RKFDV are also included: Kattowitz office, Aussiedlungsstab Kauen (Kaunas/Kowno), Zentralbodenamt. A small amount of material of the Hˆhere SS- und Polizeif¸hrer S¸d (Wehrkreis VII) als Beauftragter des RKFDV, Sonderstab Henschel and Getto-Verwaltung Litzmannstadt (Lodz) are also included.

These files describe the post-war planning process undertaken by the State Department in late 1943. They document the process by which the United Nations was created, beginning at the Dumbarton Oaks conference in 1944 and culminating in the San Francisco conference two years later, with an emphasis on Alger Hiss' role as first Secretary General of the United Nations.

The records reproduced in this publication include the AACI's reference files, transcipts of its hearings, and its reports and recommendations. In addition, there are publications, papers, interviews, maps, memoranda, and correspondence. Both official and unofficial sources provided evidence for the committee, including the U.S. State Department, the U.S. Office of Military Government for Germany, and private Arab and Jewish records.

These reports begin with logistical and financial plans for the U.S. occupation and continue through preparations for West German sovereignty in the early 1950s. The monthly reports issued between July 1945 and September 1949 are divided into sections dealing with such areas as the Allied Control Authority for Berlin, cultural and social affairs, de-Nazification, education, religion, and industry.

The declassified records that comprise this collection provide a detailed account of the diplomatic, economic, military, and cultural relationship between the United States and Cuba in the era of Fidel Castro (1926ñ2016). Included are extensive official records gathered from presidential libraries, government archives, the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), and the Department of State (DOS). The collection was originally built by historian Thomas G. Paterson (b. 1941) during his more than 25 years of research and writing on U.S.-Cuba relations in the Cold War period.

This collection is from USIA's Office of Research. The Office of Research's purpose was to help achieve U.S. foreign policy objectives by assessing public attitudes in a variety of countries worldwide; and on a variety of issues including the implications of foreign opinion on past, present, and future U.S. policies, programs, and official statements. These materials were used by the president and his cabinet, diplomats abroad, and other executive departments and agencies.

This collection is from USIA's Office of Research and represents international public opinion and public diplomacy. Countries and/or territories within this collection may have some or all of the following information as part of the U.S. Information Agency's collection of research, opinion analysis, and miscellaneous memoranda: Cuban and Soviet domestic and international media news; foreign country politics and government, economy, and/or social conditions; foreign relations; relations with the U.S.; international trade relations; broadcast and print media; films and filmmaking; international news and news media information; international public opinion of Voice of America radio broadcasts; issues relating South and North Vietnam and the Vietnamese conflict; Bosnia War, 1991-1995; international public opinion on select world developments.

This collection contains Bush Presidential Records from a variety of White House offices. These files consist of letters of correspondence, memoranda, coversheets, notes, distribution lists, newspaper articles, informational papers, published articles, and reports from the public, the Congress, Bush administration officials, and other various federal agencies primarily regarding American Middle East peace policy and the United States' role in the many facets of the Middle East peace process.

This collection is a record of the U.S. Operations Mission's experiences in Iran. In it are outlined the programs that were initiated, the problems encountered, and the results of the 11-year effort. The program of technical cooperation in Iran was frequently cited as an example of the ideal Point Four program. The overthrow of the established government led naturally to questions concerning the "failure" of American technical assistance in that country. Three kinds of aid were provided: United States technicians advised or worked with the Iranian Government; supplies and equipment were provided for demonstration purposes; and Iranian personnel were sent to the United States or third countries for observation or training programs. The bulk of assistance was directed towards improving agricultural methods, but much also was achieved in such areas as preventive medicine, education, and administrative improvement.

This collection is a record of the U.S. Operations Mission's experiences in Saudi Arabia. In it are outlined the programs that were initiated, the problems encountered, and the results of the five year effort in the Point Four program.

This collection concerns United States relations with Panama, particularly Operation Just Cause and its aftermath.

The Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies (CDAAA) was an advocacy organization formed in May 1940 to persuade the American public that the United States should supply the Allies with as much material and financial aid as possible in order to keep the U.S. out of the war. The wealth of CDAAA's publications shed light on political attitudes of the time. Publications include flyers, pamphlets, cartoons, newsletters, newspaper advertisements and clippings, postcards, press releases, a syndicated column called "It Makes Sense", radio transcripts, speeches, petitions, and policy statements.

Fight for Freedom, Inc. (FFF), a national citizen's organization established in April 1941, was a leading proponent of full American participation in World War II. An offshoot of the Committee to Defend America by Aiding the Allies, FFF was supported by average citizens, as well as prominent educators, labor leaders, authors and playwrights, clergy, stage and screen actors, newspaper men, and politicians. Pearl Harbor effectively ended the isolationist-interventionist debate, and by early 1942 FFF disbanded.†

Weapons of Mass Destruction assembles research studies that analyze the weapons, efforts to control, and proliferation. Theses studies, reports, and analyses were conducted by governmental agencies, and private organizations under contract with the Federal government. They represent the most rigorous and authoritative research on global efforts to halt proliferation and reduce the threat. The documents in this collection are diverse in scope and emphasis. They dissect specific weapons, explore efforts to control proliferation, illuminate the psychology of WMD terrorism, trace the origins and development of international efforts to reduce WMDs, and address the formidable problem of developing feasible counter-measures and polices.