Skip to Main Content

Databases, eResources, & Tools

A listing of databases, datasets, and research support tools.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
a+t Online Library provides access to bilingual publications (English/Spanish) from a+t architecture publishers including a+t magazine from issue 29, books from a+t research group, packs of cards, and Housing Index. For optimal use, it is recommended to use desktop or laptop.
New
Full-text collection of current and archived broadcast transcripts from many of the top television and radio news shows in the United States, providing researchers with content from leading sources, including ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, FOX, MSNBC, NBC and others.
New
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
New
Search and display African American newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
New
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more.
New
Features content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. Through this unique digital archive, users will gain multiple perspectives on the people, issues and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversation about race, equity and diversity.
New
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
New
Dedicated to exploring how medical disasters of the past inform the present response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this database brings together federal government reports, hearings, and more. Content that is COVID-19 specific is organized into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with a separate subcollection exclusive to Past Pandemics.
Trial
CSI Digital is the robust and innovative online home for the nationally award-winning Cincinnati Song Initiative. This exclusive hub comprises recordings of performances that took place live, as well as original content produced for digital consumption. Explore CSI Mainstage Concerts, Beyond the Song Webinars, Composer Interviews, and the Complete Concert Archives. Trial access expires on December 17, 2021.
New
Access to thousands of high-quality open access (OA) e-books from the world’s most trusted university presses and scholarly publishers. All titles are Digital Rights Management (DRM) Free, so users can download and share freely and there is no need to worry about an ADOBE ID!
New
Search and display articles from ethnic newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.
New
Providing primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books, this database explores executive privilege from the country's founding to the present day.
New
The Health Poll Database includes over 70,000 polling and survey questions on a broad range of topics, from disease prevention and health care access to social determinants of health, such as experiences of discrimination or availability of quality childcare. Curated trends allow users to track public opinion on a variety of health subjects over time. The database is open to all with limited question views per month, but for access to unlimited content sign into your Roper iPoll account.
New
Search for global import/export records from US Customs at the bill of lading level. Data are updated daily, including some limited export data as well. To access, go to the link, scroll down and fill out the Join New form to create a free account. Note that you must be in the CMU IP range when creating an account (either on campus, or using the Full VPN). Once an account is created, you can access the resource from any location using the link above.
New
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
New
Thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, might, and daily nitty-gritty of administrating America's fighting forces. Content focuses on the function of the federal government in administrating the armed forces, the armed forces' structural changes over time, and the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield. Coverage is from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror, with selected titles from English military history to supplement understanding of the development of America's own military law.
New
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
New
Features content from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including over 400 African American publications. Through this unique digital archive, users will gain multiple perspectives on the people, issues and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversation about race, equity and diversity.
New
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for its broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. They publish reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
New
Seach and display articles from Pennsylvania newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, with most ca. 2000 - present.
New
Search and display article from Pittsburgh newspapers culled from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Includes the Tartan. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, most ca. 2000 - present.
New
An online content platform providing commentary on topics of current significance related to policy, current events, democracy, international relations, economics and more. It is written for a global audience by prominent political leaders policymakers, scholars, business leaders and civil activists from around the world. You can register for a free personal account to receive newsletters, bookmark articles and follow specific authors.
Trial
A music resource for educational institutions containing 1300+ concerts and documentary films in electronic, jazz, soul, funk, classical and global music. Co-founded and curated by Quincy Jones, the platform preserves the richness of history, while reflecting the present-day beauty and reality of culturally and racially diverse people.
New
SAGE Campus provides access to a growing collection of online courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. NOTE: You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right-hand corner using your CMU email address. If you are an instructor, please contact Sarah Young to upgrade your account in order to manage student cohorts.
New
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
New
offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.
New
An open source plug-in for Chrome and Firefox to facilitate access to open access peer-reviewed research.
New
Search and display newspapers articles of the United States of America from the Access World News database from NewsBank. Exact dates of coverage vary by title, but most ca. 2000 - present.
New
"Helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or
device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s
brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research
tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it
to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies. If you
need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research
library, we recommend using Zotero instead."
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...