Constellate is a comprehensive service that combines the content and platform tools needed to teach, learn, and perform text analysis, helping faculty advance their own scholarship and develop the data skills their students need for success in their education and employment. Trial lasts until December 31, 2023. Please send comments to Nicky Agate.
Apply natural language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale Primary Sources in a single research platform. By integrating an unmatched depth and breadth of digital primary source matter with the most popular Digital Humanities (DH) tools, Gale Digital Scholar Lab provides a new lens to explore history and empowers researchers to generate world-altering conclusions and outcomes. The Digital Scholar Lab offers advanced humanities computing tools that make natural language processing (NLP) for historical texts accessible, more efficient, and impactful, thus expanding the footprint of digital humanities across campus.
Resource that covers social issues from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. With over 20,000 pro/con viewpoints, approximately 19,000 reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more, students will be prepared to argue any side of the issue. Contains informed, differing views that help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
Covers key events in the twentieth century that have shaped the modern world. The collection goes beyond the study of economic thought by introducing the study of social forces unleashed by the economy, and provides insight into general political and philosophical thought throughout the period. Part III covers topics including the expansion of communism and capitalism; production and trade as it relates to the role of the state; history of immigration and its impact on the global economy; the emergence of the middle class; temperance movements; and women’s labor organizations. The collection is comprised exclusively of monographs and periodicals.
Covers the “Age of Capital,” the industrial revolution, and the High Victorian Era, when the foundations of modern-day capitalism and global trade were established. The core of the collection offers content in the peak of the British empire, strong in “grey literature” and non-mainstream materials rarely preserved by libraries—including pamphlets, plans, ephemera, and private collections. The collection supports a range of research and teaching topics in the 19th century, including slavery and abolition, the growth of capitalism, and the emergence of nationalism and Marxism.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) provides significant enhanced functionality for searching Medline, the National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database for biomedical literature. Trial access ends on June 30, 2024. Please send feedback to Sarah Young.
Replica provides data about the built environment and how people interact with it. Their datasets deliver a holistic, up-to-date picture of mobility, people, land use, and economic activity.
"Places" data is best used for in-depth analysis. "Trends" provides weekly mobility and economic insights, nationwide, with census-tract level granularity, and is designed for monitoring changes and impact over time.
Please contact Jimmy McKee for details on how to gain Direct Database Access to Replica's Places module.
NOTE: Users must first create account with Andrew email address.
Provides a measure of the effects of local demand shocks on total gross output, value added, earnings, and employment. RIMS II multipliers were developed by the US Bureau of Economic Analysis as a tool to help economists analyze the potential impacts of economic activities on regional economies. They are now used by investors, planners, and elected officials to objectively assess the potential of economic impacts of various projects within a single region. We currently have access to the Pittsburgh Metropolitan Statistical Area multipliers. For more info on RIMS II, please see this guide.
Sage Explorer delivers an expansive collection to support every stage of social science research and learning directly to your library, all with unlimited access. Explore over 30,000 pieces of content that support each learning modality: books and reports for visual learners, videos for auditory learners, and cases and datasets for students who learn by doing.
Scite is an AI-enhanced research support platform for discovering and evaluating scientific articles. It allows users to see how publications have been cited, by providing the context of the citation and classifying whether it provides supporting or contrasting evidence. The AI Assistant utilizes ChatGPT functionality with reference check processes. Additional features includes features such as: notifications, custom dashboards, funding analyses, and reference checks.
NOTE: During initial registration, please use your CMU email address to access your free account.
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
