Skip to main content

Databases, eResources, & Tools

A listing of databases, datasets, and research support tools.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Millions of pages of primary sources spanning the 15th – 21st centuries, including a wealth of new content added every year.
New
De Gruyter's digital research platform provides access to scholarly books and journal articles from De Gruyter, its imprints and publisher partners.
New
The electrothèque web app allows you to listen to selected works culled from the empreintes DIGITALes catalogue and its composers. Founded in 1990, empreintes DIGITALes is considered the reference label in electroacoustics, acousmatics and musique concrète. electrothèque is accessible on mobile devices (iOS, Android, etc.), tablets, on laptops as well as good old desktop computers. The music featured on this site is available for online streaming purposes only. Downloading or saving are not allowed.
New
Backfile of one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts), with ongoing addition of new issues.
New
The backfiles of U. S. and U.K. consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
New
A collection of English-language newspapers and periodicals spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
New
Weekly African-American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. It was founded in 1936 by John H. Sengstacke, owner of the Chicago Defender. The Chronicle garnered national attention in its early years for its "radical" approach to politics. It advocated on behalf of both organized labor and the Democratic Party, both unusual in an era when the union movement was often seen as hostile to Black workers and the Southern-influenced Democratic Party frequently accepted racist policies.
New
A browser extension that facilitates access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web. LibKey Nomad provides one-click access to full text from websites like PubMed, Wikipedia and publisher pages.
New
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
New
1845-present. A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
New
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address. Access lasts until the graduation date the student enters when registering, 1 year for faculty and staff (renewable). Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
New
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries.
New
nkoda is a sheet music subscription service that can be accessed via app on your phone, tablet, or desktop giving you direct and unlimited access to the publishers’ catalogues in app. They are partnered with over 100 publishers but some of the big ones are Barenreiter, Boosey & Hawkes, Chester, Faber Music, Novello, and Ricordi. Features include: mark-up tools, sharing of scores and playlists, uploading PDF formatted files, store and access offline, and hands-free page turner. Explore their eclectic collection of instrumental and vocal music - from Mozart, Brahms, and Stravinsky to Pink Floyd and Radiohead. Scores are not downloadable.
New
The annual yearbook of the American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy containing interdisciplinary research from some of the most distinguished and accomplished scholars in political and legal philosophy.
New
The American Bar Association's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases provides comprehensive expert analysis of all cases argued before the Supreme Court prior to the arguments. Issues 1-7 summarize the Court's seven argument sessions from October through April and Issue 8 reviews the entire term using statistics, charts, essays, and case summaries. Covers 1973-present.
New
Nearly 2,000 pamphlets and complete runs of eight newspaper titles, covering 1840-1865, that were specifically selected for the regional and diverse perspectives they offer. The pamphlets expand on individual perspectives of government officials, clergy, social reformists, and others. Newspapers are a perfect complement to these sources offering insights on a broader range of events. The newspapers included in Civil War Era provide a variety of editorial perspectives reflecting different regions and political orientations.
New
The largest database of music journalism online containing over 40,000 articles, interviews, and reviews on acts from ABBA to Zappa. The archive draws on numerous publications from Creem and Trouser Press to Rolling Stone, and from New Musical Express and Melody Maker to MOJO. It is fully searchable by artist, genre, writer or keyword (allowing search by album or single title, date etc.). Rock’s Backpages also features a library of over 600 audio interviews.
Trial
SAGE Campus provides access to a growing collection ofonline courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. Send comments to Sarah Young
New
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
New
An open source plug-in for Chrome and Firefox to facilitate access to open access peer-reviewed research.
New
Unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...