Skip to Main Content

Databases, eResources, & Tools

A listing of databases, datasets, and research support tools.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
A&AePortal This link opens in a new window
New
The A&AePortal is an authoritative eBook resource that features important works of scholarship in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
BabelScores This link opens in a new window
New
Contains over 210,000 pages of contemporary music online by the most creative, original and innovative composers of the past few decades offering a wide catalogue and setting up a powerful circulation platform addressed to instrumentalists, ensembles, orchestras, composers, musicologists, conservatories, universities and festivals throughout the world.
China Academic Journals This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s): CAJ full-text database Also known as: Chinese journal network Also known as: CJN Also known as: Zhongguo qi kan quan wen shu ju ku Title on select database screen: China academic journals full text database Also known as: CNKI
Full-text electronic versions of Chinese academic periodicals in literature/history/philosophy. The database includes current issues as well as archives of back issues of journals, and is reproduced with original pagination. Coverage: 1994-onwards.

Trial runs until 3/1/23. Please send comments to Charlotte Kiger Price.
China Doctoral/Masters' These Full-text Database This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s): CNKI CDMD
522 thousand dissertations and 5 million theses from almost a thousand universities and research institutions in Literature/History/Philosophy.

Trial runs until 3/1/2023. Please send comments to Charlotte Kiger Price.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
New
The image and reference full-text database DETAIL Inspiration contains more than 3,900 international project documentations of building projects from over 30 years of DETAIL. Search functions and filter options according to main keywords, such as building type, material, year of construction or DETAIL issue topic, enable users to search for examples of creative building solutions.
LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
New
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
New
The Loeb Classical Library is an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Newspapers.com World Collection This link opens in a new window
Trial
Alternate Name(s): World Collection - Historical Newspapers Newspapers.com library edition world collection
Provides online access to historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries, including Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, Northern Ireland, and Panama.

Trial runs until 2/22/23. Please send comments to Charlotte Kiger Price.
North American City Reports This link opens in a new window
New
Access over 130,000+ city publications from the five hundred largest cities in North America. Documents include budgets, surveys, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, and annual reports. This resource also includes documents from municipal and regional organizations and agencies and other agencies with coverage mostly from 2000-present.
OpenBibArt This link opens in a new window
New
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.
Policy Commons: Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
New
The world’s largest database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. It includes over a million pages of premium content from leading publishers and restored from organizations that have disappeared. The resource includes access to the North American City Reports collection - a collection of over 130,000 city documents from the five hundred largest cities in North America, including various municipal and regional organizations.
Preprint Citation Index This link opens in a new window
New
Discover preprints from 1991-present for key research articles ahead of the formal publication in a journal from a range of international selected and evaluated preprint repositories in the sciences, social sciences and arts & humanities. A multidisciplinary collection of preprints from a wide range of leading preprint repositories. Each record in the product contains standard bibliographic metadata such as author, abstract, keywords, descriptor terms, and more.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
New
Combines multiple ProQuest business information databases that includes more than 130 million documents. Types of information include company reports, industry reports, journals, magazines, eBooks, videos, trade journals, and specialized reports from J.P. Morgan, Hoovers, BMI Research, and others. Databases in this resource include ABI/INFORM, Entrepreneurship Database, J.P. Morgan Research, and more! Database Guide
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
New
Contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works. Provides diverse, global perspectives with sources from all over the world. Content types include: primary texts, criticism, reference works, full text journals, audio and video, eBooks, and dissertations. Database Guide
SAE MobilityRxiv This link opens in a new window
New
A free online archive and sharing service for English-language preprints in the mobility/transportation field, including ground vehicles, commercial vehicles, and aerospace and aviation.
TDM Studio This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): ProQuest TDM Studio
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
Unpaywall This link opens in a new window
New
An open source plug-in for Chrome and Firefox to facilitate access to open access peer-reviewed research.
World Shakespeare Bibliography This link opens in a new window
New
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide from 1960 to the present.
WrapPRO This link opens in a new window
New
WrapPRO provides unlimited access to exclusive entertainment, technology, and media coverage, insights, data and analysis (from Parrot Analytics), as well as VIP access to virtual events and screenings throughout the year. This platform can help you stay ahead of critical industry trends and connect you to events across entertainment, media, streaming, tech and more.

To log in, click on the WrapPRO link above and use the following log in information:

Username: pro@cmu.edu
Password: pro2022

Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...