The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
This collection of primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera relate to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries. It offers researchers historical context and resources, from both personal and institutional perspectives, to the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. The collection continues to expand, and at completion will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. Materials in the collection are organized around fundamental themes of Border Identities, Border Enforcement and Control, Border Disputes, Border Criminologies, Maritime Borders, Human Trafficking, Sea Migration, Undocumented and Unauthorized Migration, and Global Governance of Migration.
Provides news, articles, and analysis on global tech, finance, stock market, media, economy, lifestyle, real estate, AI, and innovation. Also included are a pitch deck library, a salary database, and an organizational chart library. In order to access, signup for an account using your CMU email address. You account will also work with the Business Insider app.
The CBS News Video Archive is a database of flagship news programming spanning 6 decades of journalistic coverage. Perfect for history, media studies, journalism, and social sciences students and scholars, this unique product provides an unparalleled look at American and World History events, as they were originally reported.
CNKI (China National Knowledge Infrastructure, or 中国知网) eBooks include over 17,700 titles in Chinese, as well as 1,000+ English books. The collection consists of academic and historical e-books from China’s most authoritative scholarly publishers, covering various subjects ranging from humanities and social sciences to STEM.. With new e-books added continuously, CNKI has established agreements with more than 35 authoritative publishing houses, including The Yellow River Publishing Media Group, Zhejiang Publishing Group, Tianjin Ancient Books Publishing House, China Renmin University Press, and more. All publications are specially selected for the needs of academic research and are mainly historical, informative, and research-oriented. Most books are published after 2010. Supports online reading and PDF download of both full texts and chapters.
Allows access to all our currently-subscribed East View resources. This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia, Ukraine, and the former Soviet Union along with some from China, Mexico, and East Africa. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents. Also includes Links to publications in English and Russian. Includes transliteration feature.
Analytical tool for chemical spectral analyses with Wiley spectral databases including IR, MS, Raman, NMR, UV-Vis, and more. Identify, analyze, and manage spectral analytical data across multiple laboratory instruments in a single interface. Trial access will run through April 10, 2025. Please send comments to Chasz Griego
Gives instructors, students, and researchers of Latin American studies, Spanish, and Portuguese a comprehensive and unique perspective on the region. The first of its kind, the collection’s materials are presented in their original language with abstracts and indexing in Spanish, Portuguese, and English. Approximately two-thirds of the titles have subtitles.
Provides data on US options and their underlying securities, including historical price, implied volatility, and sensitivity information. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.
The PBS video collection assembles more than 1,600 documentary films and series from the Public Broadcasting Service, including Frontline, NOVA, American Experience, Odyssey, as well as films by Ken Burns and Michael Wood.
Explore content thematically through our carefully structured taxonomy, and reflect on fascinating new relationships between concept and content. All entries have been taken from Paul Allain’s and Jen Harvie’s Routledge Companion to Theatre and Performance (Routledge: London, 2006), and are edited by Maggie B. Gale, unless otherwise indicated. Trial access will run through January 1, 2025. Please send comments to Ashley Werlinich
The South Asia Archive is a specialist digital collection delivering global electronic access to culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within - and about - the Indian subcontinent. Trial access will run through February 10, 2025. Please send comments to Lynn Kawaratani
A popular magazine that features articles on politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. To access, sign in with your CMU credentials (Andrew ID and CMU password).
eResources are licensed to the Libraries and are available to current CMU affiliates using their Andrew ID and password. Please see the Statement on Electronic Resources Use for more information about permitted and prohibited uses/ actions.
Stay up to date with eResource known issues, scheduled updates, and upcoming platform migrations.
