CMU LibGuides: Measuring Your Research Impact: Author Level, Article Level, and Unit Level Researcher Metrics

Author Level Research Analysis

Clarivate Analytics Researcher ID
Sign up for a Researcher ID or view someone's profile on Researcher ID. Citation statistics are generated from the Web of Science Core Collection.
Google Scholar (My Citations)
Requires a Google account but will yield a useful tracking page for your scholarly work.
Harzing's Publish or Perish
This downloadable tool allows the user to ingest Google Scholar data for author analysis. It's very useful for fields that are not covered well in Scopus and Web of Science.

SciVal This link opens in a new window
SciVal uses the data of the Scopus database to allow researchers, labs or departments to quickly explore the impact of their work. You'll need to register for use. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access.

Scopus Author Search
Use Author Search to produce citation overviews for a researcher.
Web of Science
Use Web of Science's Author Search to create Citation Reports.

Clearing Up Author Ambiguity Problems

What’s on your [Scopus] profile page? A tip to check and correct your author details
Use this guidance to clean up your metrics - ask your liaison librarian for help if needed.

Article Level Research Analysis

General Citation Databases

Google Scholar Requires a Google account but provide citations for research articles.
Scopus Use article search to produce citations for a research article.
Web of Science Use Web of Science's title search to generate research article citation

Subject Specific Citation Databases

ACM Digital Library Interesting author and institutional analysis in the fields of computer science and computer engineering
IEEE Explore IEEE Xplore provides great article-level metrics for each paper, links the reader to a "cited by" list and provides a citation mapping tool.
MathSciNet Provides citations ranked by times cited plus interesting author profiles in the field of mathematical sciences.
SciFinder provided by Chemical Abstracts Services includes citation linking and chemistry and related field literature
Reaxys is a web-based tool for the retrieval of chemistry literature and data from published literature

University Rankings

Department/Institutional Research Analysis

Dimensions

The first worldwide database of awarded research funding. Use Dimensions to see the latest funded research projects in your areas of interest - wherever they are in the world.
SciVal
SciVal uses the data of the Scopus database to allow researchers, labs or departments to quickly explore the impact of their work. You'll need to register for use. When off-campus, SciVal only works with VPN access.

Important Note: SciVal require registration and login because it offers a lot of personalized features that will be stored with your account. If you already have a Carnegie Mellon account with an Elsevier (SciVal) tool, that account login should work. If not, you will need to register.