Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biological Sciences: 03-201: Undergraduate Colloquium for Sophomores: Start

A guide on how to use biological sciences databases for research

Need Help?

 

Schedule a one-on-one consultation with Dr. Melanie Gainey (mgainey@andrew.cmu.edu), the librarian liaison for biological sciences, for in-depth help with literature searches, databases, citation management, creating a research plan for assignments, and more.

Useful Databases for Biological Sciences Research

About this Guide

This guide provides some links and brief videos to show you how to find reliable information sources, navigate databases such as PubMed and NCBI Gene, and manage your research with the citation manager, Zotero.  This guide will help you do research more efficiently, which will save you a lot of time in this class and others! In the tabs in this guide, you will find information to help you:

 

Useful Resource for Accessing Articles

The LibKey Nomad browser extension provides one-click access to the Libraries' full text resources as you find research on the web and in databases. Find information on how to install here

Biological Sciences Librarian

Melanie Gainey's picture
Melanie Gainey
Contact:
Mellon Library
4th Floor Mellon Institute
412-268-3171