CMU LibGuides: Expanded and Free Resources during COVID-19 Closure: Online Sources by Select Subjects

Browse resources by subject Updated copy

Performing Arts:

Musical America This link opens in a new window
The business source for the performing arts.
A-R Online Music Anthology This link opens in a new window
ARMA is an extensive collection of music and articles designed expressly for music history and theory courses. There are more than 600 pieces of music (over 7,000 pages) from antiquity through the romantic era.

Visual Arts & Design:

See also the Magazine Archives and Periodical Indexes in the Periodicals Tab.

19th Century British Pamphlets
Nearly 26,000 pamphlets covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the 19th century.
Arcadian Library Online
JSTOR
Access to all unlicensed collections. More than 25,000 books as well as primary source collectons. Access extended through June 31, 2022
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
More than 27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images in 76 sub-collections, chronicling the liberation of Southern Africa and the dismantling of the Apartheid regime. Available until June 30, 2021.
World Heritage Sites: Africa
More 86,000 visual, contextual, and spatial objects in 30 sub-collections, providing documentation of African heritage sites. Available until June 30, 2021.

Cambridge Companions
Access to a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
more...less...
Be sure to create a free account for optimum use. You can save your borrowed books to a "shelf"
Open Library
Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published
more...less...
Be sure to create a free account for optimum use. You can save your borrowed books to a "shelf"

If you have any questions or need additional help, please fill out the following form and a librarian will be in contact with you!