Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access World News: Asia
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
NB: Dates of coverage vary by publication. You can use the map search, adding/deleting filters to make your own combination of countries.
Chung yang jih pao = Central daily news
Kept six weeks. Filed under title: Central Daily News
Global Press Archive This link opens in a new window
A digitized collection of over 2,000 predominantly foreign-language newspaper titles ranging in coverage from the late 19th Century to present times. Features stand alone titles and databases aggregating multiple titles from specific regions and time periods with 17 countries and 12 languages represented. This resource is a work in progress that continues to grow each year.
Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832 - 1953) This link opens in a new window
Chinese historical newspapers providing critical perspectives and first-handaccounts on the ending ofmore than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain,the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the 1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent foundingof the Republic of China.
Historical Newspapers: Times of India (1838 - 2008) This link opens in a new window
The world's most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more.
Historical Newspapers: Korea Times (1956 - 2016) This link opens in a new window
The oldest and most influential English-language newspaper in Korea, The Korea Times is globally recognized for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news – historically through contemporary times – as well as its perspective on regional issues and events.
Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post (1903 - 1998) This link opens in a new window
Known for its authoritative, influential, and independent reporting on all of Asia as well as its perspective of the rest of the world.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
1911-1949. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. late 1990s-present. To limit to Asia, either filter by Geography after the search, or before searching, select Menu, All Sources, Category - News, then narrow by Jurisdiction.
PressDisplay This link opens in a new window
Browsable access to the full-color print layout of newspapers and magazines from around the world, including current and back issues of a few months (depends on title).
Proquest Asian Newsstream
ca. 1998-present. 0ne of the most respected national and regional sources of news and current affairs information in Asia and the Far East. Includes such titles as The Wall Street Journal Asia, China News and The Bangkok Post.
Singapore Pages/ Newspaper SG
Current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies