Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU

This guide provides resources and information that might be useful for this course.

About this Guide

This guide was designed for class 99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU. In this guide, you can find the following topics:

  • Class syllabus
  • What are archives and how to find materials in the University Archives
  • How to use Zotero
  • Workflow for the class
  • Scheduling an appointment to work in the Archives

Schedule an appointment

We have reserved the University Archives reading room for this class. The reading room will be open by appointment on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, 10am - 5pm. You can make appointments using this spreadsheet.

Please make an appointment at least 24 hours in advance.  

If something comes up the day of and you cannot make it, please email us directly. 

Questions? Contact us!

Potentially Harmful Content

The University Archives recognizes that you may encounter materials in our collection containing harmful and/or offensive language both in historical records and the tools we create to describe them. Archival records are historical documents, and therefore they are unaltered to maintain their integrity and to foster accountability for the actions and views of the record’s creator. The language used by record creators and the materials they collected reflects the time and social context in which they were created. If you encounter harmful or offensive materials please contact an archivist so we can add a warning note to the collection.