Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU

This guide provides resources and information that might be useful for this course.

Processed Collections

University Publications (UPC)

This collection consists of official Carnegie Mellon University publications. It includes newsletters and magazines produced by various departments and offices for both internal or external audiences. The bulk of the collection dates from the 1980s onwards and most runs are incomplete.

 

Executive Board Meeting Minutes (ECM) 

The Executive Committee/Board of Trustees Minutes collection includes minutes of Executive Committee meetings and supplementary documents and reports. The minutes are rich in information about strategic decisions made by the university and board. They also include information on initiatives that never came to fruition. 

 Available in the Digital Collections.

 

Earl Swank (ESP)

The Earle Swank Papers are housed in eight archival boxes and arranged into seven series. Series have been designated for correspondence, subject files, Disciplinary Committee, other committees, publications, reports, and miscellaneous. Generally, these papers include business correspondence, minutes, reports, and newspaper clippings. The majority of the collection comes from Swank's correspondence as Dean of Student Affairs and case files of the Disciplinary Committee from 1919 to 1980. The collection contains little information about Swank's personal life, aside from three folders of personal correspondence. In addition, some items in this collection predate Swank's employment at Carnegie Mellon and may have come from other staff or faculty members who worked as or for the Dean of Student Life in earlier days.

 

Student Publications (SPC)

 This collection is composed of material created and published by Carnegie Mellon Students. It includes humour magazines, literary reviews, newsletters, and magazines published by student interest groups. It does not include the Tartan, the Thistle, or the Carnegie Technical.The collection is arranged alphabetically by publication title, and chronologically thereunder. There are currently 28 titles represented in the collection.

The majority of the collection is made up of humor and literary magazine. Humor Magazines: The Puppet, The Scottie/Scot/Great Scot, readme, The Weekly Slant. Literary Magazines: An Fhine Againne, Cano, Carnegie Bard, Dossier, Form, The Oakland Review, Patterns, Three Rivers, Two Hands

  • Tartan (T)
    • The Tartan is Carnegie Mellon's student paper.
    • Issues from 1906-2014 can be found in the Digital Collections
    • Issues 
  • Student Union (SU)
    • The Student Union billed itself as Carnegie Mellon's "alternative journal." A left-leaning newspaper, it was first published in 1986 as an alternative to the Tartan. (Not a complete run)
  • Relative Truth (RT)
    • The Relative Truth was an alternative paper first published in 1969.

 

Faculty Senate Papers (FSP)

The Faculty Senate is the elected governing body for faculty affairs at Carnegie Mellon University. The Faculty Senate is comprised of elected officials and appointed members that are empowered to conduct affairs relating to faculty organization (except where the Constitution and by-laws prohibit). The Faculty Senate Constitution, first conceived in 1922 and later revised in every decade, provides the structure for Faculty Senate affairs. The individual faculty members appointed to the Faculty Senate bear the responsibility for maintaining the academic integrity and freedom of the institution. It is the responsibility of the Faculty Senate to care not only for the academic welfare of the University but also to address any topic relevant to the interests of the University. The Faculty Senate operates through a series of appointed committees and councils to make recommendations to the administration or other bodies of organization at the University.

 

FOCUS: Faculty and Staff newspaper (FOC)

This collection contains print versions of, FOCUS: the Faculty and Staff Newspaper from 1971 to 2008 as well as discs from 2000 to 2008 containing website and indesign data. The collection is almost entirely complete with two copies of each print issue.

The FOCUS Manual, a guide written by FOCUS founder and editor from 1971-1994, David Demarest, described that FOCUS, “seeks and ‘independent’ stance: the option to publish pieces critical of university policies.” The manual also notes, “FOCUS was initiated at the request of the Faculty Senate to replace the precursor “Faculty Bulletin” that consisted mostly of administration announcements. The senate wanted a publication that would allow ‘conversation among faculty, and between faculty and other members of the campus community, [in order to] contribute to the creation of a ‘real’ campus community.”

 

Edward R. Schatz (ERS)

This collection contains the administrative papers of Edward R. Schatz, Ph.D. stored in 20 record center boxes (20 cubic feet). The collection comprises correspondence, memoranda, reports, contracts, proposals, minutes, legal material, publications, speeches, notes, surveys, grants, blueprints, press releases, and data spreadsheets. The papers are arranged into five series reflecting the role and responsibilities of Schatz as a member of the Carnegie Mellon community: Series I. Faculty Member (1940) 1945-1964; Series II. Dean of Research (1959-1960) 1961-1965 (1968); Series III. Vice President of Academic Affairs 1963-1982; Series IV. Acting President (1970-1971) 1972; and Series V. Senior Vice President (1970-1980) 1981-1996.

Many of the Schatz papers focus on a variety of academic issues confronted by the university from 1946 to 1996 and can be found in the abundant committee files. In particular, researchers should consult the files on the Educational Policy Committee, Educational Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees, Educational Policy Council (renamed the Educational Affairs Council in 1973), and the University Research Council.

Unprocessed Collections

The following collections may contain relevant but have not been processed and do not have finding aids.

  1. President's papers (OPR)
  2. Student Affairs (SAR)
  3. Carnegie Mellon University Office of the Provost Collection (OPC)
  4. Public Relations (PRR)