Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU

This guide provides resources and information that might be useful for this course.

How to

Citing primary source materials in Zotero is similar to citing secondary sources. 

If you are unsure about what item type to select when creating a new item a list of item type definitions can be found here. If you are unsure of what type an item should be categorized as, "Manuscript" is probably the best bet for primary sources found in the Archives. "

Zotero defines a manuscript as "An unpublished manuscript. Use this type for both historical documents and modern unpublished work (e.g., unpublished manuscripts, manuscripts submitted for publication, working papers that are not widely available). Can also be used for other forms of historical or archival documents. This item type can also be adapted to fit many types of unusual items."

 

Archive & Location in Archive

Archive = Carnegie Mellon University Archives

Location in Archive = Collection Name, box #; or Digital Collections

  • Found in a archival collection:

 

  • Found on the Digital Collections website:

 

Full examples of how to cite primary source materials found in the University Archives can be found in the "Examples" folder located the shared Zotero Group Library for this course.

Additional Guides

Zotero for Archival Research, a guide by Harvard Libraries