CMU LibGuides: Civil and Environmental Engineering: Find Articles

Quick Links

ILLiad - Interlibrary Loan Service

Need Help Using Databases?

See our tutorial on How to Use Databases

How to read a scientific article?

Recommended Databases

Use indexes and databases to locate articles, technical reports, and patents. When you find a citation for an article, you need to check the CAMEO library catalog to see if Carnegie Mellon owns that journal or conference proceedings. If Carnegie Mellon Library does not own the item, you can use ILLiad, the interlibrary loan service to have the materials sent to you.

For a comprehensive list of electronic indexes and databases available at Carnegie Mellon, see Databases by Subject.

Applied Mechanics Reviews
1997 - (table of contents only).
Applied Mechanics Reviews. New York, etc., American Society of Mechanical Engineers. 1948 - (updated monthly).
Reviews of books and journal articles related to mechanical engineering. Includes complete review articles.

Compendex This link opens in a new window
1970- (updated monthly). Engineering Index. 1884-1992. The world's premiere interdisciplinary engineering database, covering journals, technical reports and conferences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. (ProQuest). Database Guide
GlobalData Power This link opens in a new window
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more. NOTE: Click on the "If you have IP access click here" link.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
1988- (updated monthly). Provides full-image access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings published since 1988. Each image includes all charts, graphs, diagrams, photographs, and illustrative material.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
January 1969- (updated weekly). Science Abstracts. 1898-1940. Computer and Control Abstracts. 1966-1992. Electrical and Electronics Abstracts. 1966-1994. Electrical Engineering Abstracts. 1903-1965. Physics Abstracts. 1941-1992. Provides access to "scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computing and control, and information technology."
NTIS - now the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) This link opens in a new window
1964 - (updated monthly). The NTIS database is the preeminent, official resource for government sponsored U.S. and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering and business-related information.
SAE MOBILUS This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed summaries and bibliographic data for SAE technical papers since 1906, magazine articles, books, all ground vehicle and aerospace standards, specifications, and research reports.
AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
Online home of leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1945 - (updated weekly).

Need Help?

Ask a Librarian Chat/IM/Text Message and more

Email the Civil & Environmental Engineering Department Liaison Librarian

Call the Civil & Environmental Engineering Department Liaison Librarian at 412-268-2428

Engineering and Science Library Reference Service Hours

Mon - Thurs: 9 am - 8 pm
Fri: 9 am - 5 pm
Sat: 1 pm - 5 pm
Sun: 1 pm - 5 pm

Call the E&S Reference Desk at 412-268-2427
Email the E&S reference Desk