CMU LibGuides: History: 79-377 Food, Culture, and Power: A History of Eating: Finding Books & Articles

Finding Books & Articles

Finding Books & Articles (and more)

CMU Libraries Catalog
Libraries Catalog contains records for the majority of our physical and digital collections. Resource types include: books, peer-reviewed articles, eBooks, journals, music scores, audio CDs, conference proceedings, reports, government documents, film, dissertations, theses, newspaper articles, book reviews, and digital images.
Databases, eResources, & Tools
Use databases to find articles, proceedings, reports, datasets and other material for your assignments and research projects.
Journals & Newspapers
Browse all library electronic journals and find quick access to popular newspapers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, and more.
Technology Lending
Browse our collection of technology items, including iPads, DVD players for laptops, calculators, charging cables and headphones.
Textbooks/Course Reserves
Check the catalog for your textbook or search Course Reserves to see if your instructor put a copy on reserve for library use. See more information about textbooks in our Textbooks Research Guide.

Where are the books?

The majority of our books as well as our video collection and study spaces are located in Hunt Library. Books are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors of Hunt Library. Check them out at the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor.

Sorrells Library, located on the 4th floor of Wean Hall, focuses on research support for the fields of computer science, engineering, mathematical sciences, physics and robotics. Sorrells also contains a number of reservable study spaces

Hunt Library Hours
Sorrells Library Hours
Reserve a Study Space
Need a place to study? Looking for a room to work on a project? Reserve an individual seat or a group study space at Hunt Library or Sorrells Library, then check in/out all from the same page.

Journal and Magazine Articles

Need more databases? See the A-Z Database list, which can be filtered by subject or type.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
All subject academic database, covers material published from ca. 1980 - present.
Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" icon to see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What You Need" tab. Along with full text, the database offers the option for MP3 download.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of many science, medical or technical journals, including those in the food sciences
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
Written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides the most complete collection of resources available to support this multidisciplinary field. The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Database Guide
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. (ProQuest). Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large collection of full text academic journals in all disciplines. Usually does NOT cover the most current 3-5 years. Also includes eBooks from leading academic publishers
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tanks" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
ca. 2000-present (exact dates vary by publication). Good companion database to JSTOR. No deep backfile, is mainly current years in all subject areas.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide

What Happens When You Can't Get What You Need Online?

Interlibrary Loan

Sometimes our library doesn't own something you need, and it's not available via open access. In that case, our Resource Sharing unit can help you obtain it at no charge! See the Interlibrary Loan box below for details and to create your ILLiad account, which is required to place requests.

Tips for quicker access:

Articles and book chapters can be sent as PDFs, but whole books and movies can only be used physically.
If you have the Document Object Identifier (DOI) of an article or book chapter, the ISBN of a book, or the ISSN of a journal, processing time for requests can be reduced.
Use the DOI in ILLiad to autofill the form for you.
Use E-ZBorrow to access print items more quickly and for longer periods of time. Turnaround is typically 3-5 business days.
You can also ask the CMU Libraries to get a copy of a book or movie for the library.
Look up a book or article in the CMU Libraries Catalog and select Expand Results Beyond CMU Libraries. You can then auto-request an item without filling in all the information yourself.

ILLiad (interlibrary loan)
Request books, articles, theses and more! This is the place to go to request a PDF of an article or book chapter, or for a print book or film. First time users will be asked to register before requesting items.
E-ZBorrow
Search a consortium of 60+ academic libraries for physical items (e.g, print books or DVDs) not available at CMU. Requested items typically take 3-5 business days to arrive and are loaned for a maximum of 12 weeks.

Other Nearby Libraries

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (CLP)
The public library of the city of Pittsburgh, with a main branch in Oakland, as well as many other branches. Get a library card by going to CLP and showing proof of Allegheny County residence, or fill out an Online Library Card Application. You can easily walk to the Oakland branch in about 10 minutes or less
University of Pittsburgh
Get a special patron borrowing card at the Hillman Library Circualtion Desk. You can then go borrow books from some of their libraries. See details on Special Borrower Card. Information on the University of Pittsburgh's Libraries.