Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Estimate sales and project everything else
company database - find up to 15 years of financial data, SEC filings, historical stock prices, equity reports, etc.
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
company database - private companies worldwide with financials and venture funding information, especially tech startups. Also lists funding companies themselves.
Here you can find the overall costs of expenses like labor, rent, taxes, advertising, and insurance as averages for the industry, and as a percentage of your estimated sales. You'll probably want to choose "micro-firms" and then "startups."
S&P Global NetAdvantage
company database - after searching for a company, look under "Financials/Valuation" for key stats, ratios, income statement, etc.
Check out your competition
Major competitors should be listed in the industry reports that you find in the "Find out about industries" section above.
For more complete listings of smaller companies in an industry see:
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle)
Various modules: US and Canadian company directories, new business filings, consumer lifestyles, and more, with data visualization and mapping. Good for both public and private company info.
Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers)
Covers over 188 million global, public and private firms, with company and industry overviews, financials, and more. This platform was retired at the end of 2018. All data is now in the D&B Hoovers database. NOTE: Limits on downloads per year.
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.