CMU LibGuides: History: 79-104 Global Histories: Globalization Through History: Background

Background

Just the facts, plus a bit of interpretation. Great way to get started or to understand a historical event or issue. You have access to many online reference books via Credo Reference, Oxford Reference, Sage Reference Online and the CQ Press Electronic Library, but don't forget excellent resouces exist in paper, too.

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society
Request from OFFSITE
Encyclopedia of Globalization
HUNT REF-1 JZ1318 .E63 2007
Table of Contents
Global History: Cultural Encounters from Antiquity to the Present
Request from OFFSITE
Essentials of Global Politics
Provides an overview of the most important contemporary events and themes.
Globalization: Encyclopedia of Trade, Labor, and Politics
Comprehensive collection of cutting-edge scholarship on the economic, international business, political, legal, and environmental ramifications of globalization.
Guide to Global Hazards
Richly illustrated guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth, both globally and locally.
Handbook of Global Environmental Politics
Original articles by leading scholars of global environmental politics.
Handbook of Globalisation and Environmental Policy
Analysis of key concepts and recent developments in themes such as national regimes, types of environmental goods, trade rules and environmental policies, eco-innovation policy, government-business cooperation, the role of citizen-consumers in environmental politics, and governance in developing countries.
Handbook of Political Sociology: States, Civil Societies, and Globalization
First complete survey of the vibrant field of political sociology

OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Documents and databases on economics, energy, education, health, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, trade, transportation, and more, worldwide. (IEA Databases not included.)

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization

Related Web Pages

History Librarian

Hunt Research Services

Contact:

Subjects: General Topics