CMU LibGuides: History: 79-255: Politics, Religion, and Conflict in 19th and 20th Century Ireland: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

If links to the full text are not provided, click on see the retrieval options. If there are no full text retrieval options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers articles in historical journals written from 1955 to the present. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
Note that the keyword and/or subject heading for World War II is World War, 1939-1945 or use the Historical Period limits to search the historical dates you want to cover.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
(Carnegie Mellon users only) Over two million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Covers all social science topics anthropology, cultural studies, ethnology and ethnography, demography, political science, sociology, etc.
Irish History Online:
Authoritative guide (in progress) to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It currently contains over 79,000 bibliographic records (July 2012). Includes bibliographic information on books and pamphlets, articles from journals published in Ireland or internationally, and chapters from books of essays, including Festschriften and conference proceedings.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
(Carnegie Mellon users only) Good all purpose academic database, covers material published in all subject from ca. 1980 - present.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
(Carnegie Mellon users only) Transcribed and translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, 1941-1996.

EthnicNewsWatch
1959-present. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Though these are U. S. publications, they can reflect the concerns of ethnic and minority groups towards events in other countries.

Subject Guide

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, First Year Writing, History, Language & Linguistics, Reference, Religion, Women's Studies