Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal and Magazine Articles
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
All subject academic database, covers material published from ca. 1980 - present. (Carnegie Mellon users only). Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab. Along with full text, the database offers the option for MP3 download.
National Agricultural Library. Citations to books and journals. "Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century."
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers articles written on American history from 1964-present. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab.
Applied Science and Technology Retrospective
1913-1983.(Carneige Mellon users only). Find articles on the most important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957), plus the most important historical sources
CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
1923-present. Unbiased research reports on timely topics. Each report provides an introduction, overview, background, current situation, outlook chronology, pro/con, bibliography, etc. Keyword search for additional reports also show links to other relevant reports. Database Guide
CQ Press Electronic Library
(Carnegie Mellon users only) Online editions of many reference books. See especially CQ Researcher (1923-present)- original, non-partisan reports on issues; also the CQ Almanac (1945-present), a compiliation of congressional actions, legistation, and issues.
Energy Citations Database
access to over 2,441,000 science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 288,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). International in scope.
ca. 1884-present. Discovery system for engineering information, including such databases as Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Carnegie Mellon users only. Detailed abstracts of federal environmental impact statements.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
1967-present. Covers scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications in the environmental sciences.
Your connection to science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy
1986-present. Articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework.
Proquest Political Science
1985-present. Access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals
Need More? Need Primary Sources?
Hunt Research Services
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Law & Legal
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies
Finding Audio and Visual Resources
For additional visual resources see: History: Pictorial Resources and Images Databases.
Life Photo Archive hosted by Google
Search or browse about 10 million photos from the Life photo archives.
NOAA Photo Library
Browse or search through over 10,000 photographs and images, from all periods, covering space, weather, fisheries and fishing methods, aquatic animals, ships, maps, tides and tidal charts, etc.