Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magazines and Journals
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1: 1691-1820
Over 500 titles covering 1691-1820. The magazines and journals included are broad in scope and cover all aspects of American society. To search additional series of the AAS collection at once, once connected, click "Choose Database" and select the desired series.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2: 1821-1837
Over 1000 titles covering 1821-1837. The journals and magazines included are broad in scope and include agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics. To search additional series of the AAS collection at once, once connected, click "Choose Database" and select the desired series.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3: 1838 to 1852
Over 1,800 titles covering 1838 to 1852. Subjects covered reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. To search additional series of the AAS collection at once, once connected, click "Choose Database" and select the desired series.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4: 1853-1865
Over 1,100 titles covering 1853-1865. Subjects covered reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. To search additional series of the AAS collection at once, once connected, click "Choose Database" and select the desired series.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5: 1866-1877
Over 2,500 titles covering 1866-1877. Subjects covered reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women's fashion, family life, and religion. To search additional series of the AAS collection at once, once connected, click "Choose Database" and select the desired series.
American Journal of Science (1818-1895)
Oldest scientific journal published continuously in the United States.
1740-1940. Full text of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
1913-1983. Citations with links to full text of business, industry, science and technology magazines
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
Search for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Includes: American Periodicals Series
, British Periodicals
, Cotgreave's Index
, Niles' Register Index
, Periodicals Index Online
, Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
, Stead's Index to Periodicals
, Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
, as well as Proceedings of the Old Bailey
, Palmer's Index to the Times
, etc. Database Guide
Country Life Archive (1897 - 2005)
Comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Every page is fully searchable, and reproduced in full color and high resolution. Country Life Archive presents a chronicle of more than 100 years of British heritage, including its art, architecture, and landscapes, with an emphasis on leisure pursuits such as antique collecting, hunting, shooting, equestrian news, and gardening. Database Guide
Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983
1929-1983. Citations with links to some full text education articles.
Education Magazine Archive (1910 - 2015)
Archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals and chart the evolution of educational policy, practice and theory. Database Guide
Eighteenth Century Journals: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals, c1685-1835
Contains unique and extremely rare eighteenth century periodicals between 1685 and 1835. Subjects include class and social structure, domestic and foreign affairs, colonialism & empire, literature, drama, theater, music, economics, the industrial revolution, slavery, and much more.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880 - 2000)
Essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews. Database Guide
1959-present. Ethnic and minority magazine and newspaper articles.
Backfile of one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts), with ongoing addition of new issues.
Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current)
The complete archives of the US and UK editions of Harper's Bazaar magazine, a fashion, arts, and culture authority from 1867 to the present. Scanned in full color, it features detailed indexing and searchable text. Database Guide
1857-1912. Full text of Harper's Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated publication.
Health & Fitness Magazine Archive (1950 - 2015)
The backfiles of U. S. and U.K. consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
Articles from academic journals in all disciplines. Dates vary by journal, with some going back to the 1600s. Most do not have current years available. Also includes e-books from academic publishers.
LGBT Magazine Archive
"Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954 - 2015 " - web site. Database Guide
Life Magazine Archive
An extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions. Each issue visually and powerfully depicted national and international events and topical stories, providing intimate views of real people and their real life situations.
Men’s Magazine Archive (1845 - 2015)
1845-present. A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
National Review Archive
1955-present. Search the full text of an important American journal of opinion since its inception in 1955 by William F. Buckley Jr. National Review prides itself on being witty, shrewd, and splendidly written, providing a dose of conservative wisdom with news and opinion that is more thoughtful than what the mainstream media serves up daily. The National Review digs deeper than the networks, major newspapers, and national newsweeklies in its quest to provide an editorial product of unparalleled excellence. It clarifies the real causes, principles, and philosophies underlying today's and tomorrow's most important issues.
1865-present. Search full text of the Nation, a leading publication of reporting opinion and criticism. The archive contains thousands of historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, and puzzles dating back to Volume I, Number 1, from July 6, 1865. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
New Republic Archive
1914-present. Search the full text one of the country's leading journals of opinion on politics and the arts. Current and past issues of the journal are now available together in a single, stand-alone online database. The database features award-winning writers and critics from many fields and from most political viewpoints.
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (feat. Newsweek) (1918 - 2015)
Backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Database Guide
Newsweek Archive (1933 - 2012)
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries.
Periodicals Archive Online
ca. 1800 - 2000. Historical backfiles of periodicals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. Exact dates of coverage varies by periodical. Database Guide
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Search citations to the popular magazines of the day. Many have links to full text.
Religious Magazine Archive (1845 - 2015)
Archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries and a range of religions/denominations. Aimed originally at a wide audience, they disclose many aspects of the history of popular religious movements. Database Guide
Provides access to Scientific American from its inception in 1845 through the present, including Special Issues, Supplement Issues, and Builders Edition Issues.
Time Magazine Archive
The complete digital version of more than 77 years of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March, 1923 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience a wide range of topics, including national and international current events, politics, sports, health, technology, and entertainment.
Trench Journals and Unit Magazines of the First World War (1914 - 1919)
Rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War. Database Guide
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Database Guide
Vogue Italia Archive (1964 - current)
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italia’s appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Database Guide
Women's Magazine Archive (1846 - 2005)
Full text, fully searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Includes publications such as: Better Homes and Gardens
, Good Housekeeping
, etc. Database Guide
Women's Wear Daily Archive
1910-present. From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the industry's most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive
Unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.