History: 79-701: Graduate Research Seminar

Provides primary source materials to its members through extended loans or “on demand” digitization. Since CMU is a member, you can request items from them via interlibrary loan

The online public portal to our records and information about our records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.

Online access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in NARA. NARA has selected less than 1% of the data files in its holdings for public searching through AAD. NARA selected these data because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses.

Information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.

Independent not-for-profit library services organisation supported by the Conference of European National Librarians (CENL), whose mission is to be THE open data hub for library data in Europe. Works to strengthen and support libraries across the continent. Member libraries benefit from a powerful, low-cost aggregation structure enabling a greater exposure of digital resources and bibliographic records. "We collect, enrich and innovate with libraries' data and content for the widest possible dissemination."

Displays data about nearly 400 archives and manuscript repositories of the Russian Federation (with an additional 70 administering agencies) for which coverage has recently been updated.

Contact details for record repositories in the United Kingdom and also for institutions elsewhere in the world which have substantial collections of manuscripts noted under the indexes to the National Register of Archives.

Guide to archives and digital collections relating to Russia, the Soviet Union, and post-Soviet provinces, localities, and republics.

The Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives was created in 1984 to collect, conserve and promote the use of architectural records that document the architects and architecture of Pittsburgh and the tri-state region of western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio and northern West Virginia. The collections have grown to include thousands of drawings and blueprints, extensive files of manuscripts and photographs, and a number of architectural models -- records that document the work of hundreds of designers. These records have been gifts from architects and firms, architects' families, property owners and governments.

The digitized collections vary in content to include personal papers, university publications, and newspapers.

The Posner Memorial Collection includes more than 1,000 volumes of great books that document ideas that have shaped the world. Starting with literature and decorative books arts, Henry Posner Sr. collected from 1924 to 1973. After 1950, he focused on the history of science. Mr. and Mrs. Posner also collected small objets d’art in glass, ivory, jade and other minerals from Asia and Europe.

Special Collections is responsible for many of Carnegie Mellon University’s rare and unique materials. The rare book collection, housed in the Fine and Rare Book Room (Hunt Library, 4th floor) and in Posner Center, is strongest in the history of printing and graphic design, 19th century English and American literature, and landmark books in the history of science. Special Collections also includes manuscript collections of local authors and professors, and collections that feature a variety of media such as posters and examples of fine printing.

The University Archives is home to more than 100 years of CMU's history. Its mission to is document, preserve, and provide access to records documenting life at CMU and the contributions of its students and faculty. Examples of Archives material include academic department records, student organization records, faculty and alumni papers, and publications like the Tartan, the Thistle, and the Faculty Bulletin.