Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Magazines and Journals
Magazines and journals can be considered either primary or secondary sources, depending the way in which they are used. Ask your professor if you have questions about which they might be considered in the context of your paper. To find information about women's magazines, newspapers and journals see:
- Danky, James P., ed. Women's Periodicals and Newspapers from the 18th Century to 1981: A Union List of the Holdings of Madison, Wisconsin Libraries. Boston: G. K. Hall 7 Co., 1982.
Request from Offsite
Alphabetical list, with subject, catchword and subtitles indices. A chronological index is also included.
- Endres, Kathleen L. and Therese L. Lueck, eds. Women's Periodicals in the United States: Consumer Magazines. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1995.
HUNT REF-1 PN4879 .W6 1995
Description, history, and bibliography of 75 consumer women's magazines. Selection for inclusion determined by editorial excellence, historical significance, and "position within its niche."
- Gregory, Winifred, ed. American Newspapers, 1821-1936; A Union List of Files Available in the United States and Canada. New York: H.W. Wilson Company, 1937.
HUNT REF-1 Z6951 .A498 1967
- Mott, Frank Luther. A History of American Magazines. 5 vols. Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 1938-68.
HUNT REF-1 PN4877 .M63 1938
History and descriptions of magazines in all areas.
Relevant articles from contemporary magazines and journals can be found using these resources:
Search and display the full text of over 1,100 periodicals spanning nearly 200 years. Titles range from America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository, to popular magazines like Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal.
Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920
Thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.. Use the filter option in Documents to limit to periodicals.
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. Periodicals constitute 25 percent of the entire collection. For the years from 1860 through 1900, the period covered by most of the titles, there is no comparable resource. Gerritsen scrupulously sought complete runs, and her successors acquired additional materials to fill whatever gaps arose. The result is a collection containing such titles as The Suffragist (1913-21) and The Women's Protest Against Woman Suffrage (1912-18).
Contains all the pages of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1912 as scanned images. Users can browse by date or literary genre. Searches can be done by occupation or role in society, or by searching any combination of four indexes: subject; illustrations; literature and publishing; advertising.
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods.
Text-mine (full text search)
over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections. Contact your liaison librarian
for more information.
Journals from Hearth: Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition, and History
(Mann Library, Cornell University)
Search or browse home economics and related journals, for example:
- American Food Journal
- Bulletin of the American Home Economics Association
- The Child
- Good Housekeeping
- Harper's Bazaar
- Journal of Home Economics
1841-1876 (3 series)
Edited by Methodist preachers, it aimed "to entertain as well as instruct." (Making of America, University of Michigan)
National Citizen and Ballot Box
1876-1881, a monthly journal deeply involved in the roots of the American feminist movement.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Search citations to the popular magazines of the day. Many have links to full text.
The full contents of Vogue magazine (US edition) in full color page image, from the first issue in 1892 to the present, with monthly updates for new issues. Database Guide
Vogue Italia Archive (1964 - current)
The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italia’s appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Database Guide
Women's Magazine Archive (1846 - 2005)
Full text, fully searchable archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Includes publications such as: Better Homes and Gardens
, Good Housekeeping
, etc. Database Guide
Women's Wear Daily Archive
1910-present. From the first issue in 1910 to the present year, Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the industry's most influential reads, tracing day-to-day news, opinion, and socio-economic trends, from runway reports to beauty product reviews. WWD is a unique record of the twentieth century US and international fashion and beauty business. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record.