Women's History: Primary Sources (American): Collections, Papers, Letters, and Diaries

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH,Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service HQ 7
Collection of 550 published and unpublished works by and about women in the Western U.S. during the 18th and 19th centuries. Items in the collection include diaries, autobiographies, biographies, personal histories, and transcriptions of oral interviews.

The papers of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Lane Chapman Catt (1859-1947) span the years 1848-1950, with the bulk of the material dating from 1890 to 1920.

HUNT STACKS-2 F591 .C79 1983 8 vols

Search or browse documents dealing with reproductive rights, sexuality, work roles, etc. from the late 1960's to the early 1970's. (The Digital Scriptorium, Special Collections Library, Duke University)

The papers of suffragist, reformer, and feminist theorist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) cover the years 1814 to 1946, with most of the material concentrated between 1840 and 1902.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service HX 21

Selected documents and photographs relating to Emma Goldman's life and work as well as indexes to thousands of other documents and photographs available in collections around the world. (Berkeley Digial Library)

The fictional story of two immigrant teenagers working in New York City's garment district. Includes primary text documents, oral histories, photographs, illustrations, timeline, historiographic essays, and links to related web sites.

HUNT MFILM-3
Collection of 19th and early 20th century books, pamphlets, lectures, reports and periodicals (e. g. Birth Control Review, 1917-1940, the Malthusian, 1879-1921) dealing with women's education and participation in science, mathematics, medicine, midwifery, home health care and personal health. The publications included also cover medical issues specific to women such as menstruation, pregnancy, birth, nursing, etc., as well as social movements affecting women such as dress reform, temperance, social hygiene, industrialization, etc. The guide has an author/title list, subject index, and reel contents.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service HQ 1121
Selected materials on women before 1920 from the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Sophia Smith Collection, Jane Addams Memorial Collection, the Galatea Collection, Miriam Y. Holden Collection, Ida Rust Macpherson Collection and others. Materials microfilmed include printed books, pamphlets, photographs, manuscripts, and periodicals. Titles of the individual works, with subject headings, are in Pittcat, so relevant titles will be retrieved in a subject or keyword search. By searching on History of Women as a series title, you can retrieve all the titles in the collection.

6 vols. Request from Offsite

Her collection of papers reveals a complex portrait of the personal and public lives of one of the 20th century's most influential and controversial figures. The Margaret Sanger Papers cover every aspect of the birth control movement, including the movement's changing ideologies, its campaign for legitimacy, and its internal conflicts and organizational growth.

Selected papers and documents, links to other sites. Department of History, New York University)

The papers of educator, lecturer, suffragist, and civil rights activist Mary Church Terrell (1863-1954).

A library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938.

The records of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) span the years from 1839 to 1961 but are most numerous for the period 1890 to 1930.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service E 77

HUNT MFILM-3 305.4 S79P

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service JK 10

Pictures, patterns and notes on historical fashions.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service HQ 1126

"Members of the class of 1903 wrote a 'Round Robin' letter to each other for almost fifty years. The letters reproduced here were written between the years of 1919 and 1938. They document suffrage, war, the depression, family life and more." (Goucher College)

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage-Use Get-It Service HX 3

HUNT STACKS-2 HQ764 .S3 A25 2003 3 vols.

UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, Thomas Blvd microform storage HQ 1129

This module is comprised of records of three important women's rights organizations: the National Woman's Party, the League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. Originally a committee of the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA), the National Woman's Party (NWP) was founded in 1913 when Alice Paul and her colleagues broke away from NAWSA in dissent over strategy and tactics. The Women's Action Alliance, established in 1971 as a grass-roots organization, concerned itself with issues such as employment and employment discrimination, childcare, health care, and education. The League of Women Voters collection documents almost every facet of women's involvement in U.S. politics from 1920 to 1974.

The papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906) span the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906.

167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. (American Memory, Library of Congress)

consists of two major sets of records documenting the experience of American women during World War II: Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, and Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps. Records of the Women's Bureau consist of two major series. The first series documents the role of the Women's Bureau as an investigative agency, as a clearinghouse for proposed changes in working conditions, and as a source of public information and education. Items in this first series include reports of the bureau director to the secretary of labor, records of bureau-sponsored conferences, and speeches and articles by women officials of the bureau. The second series of Women's Bureau records consists of a detailed study on the treatment of women by unions in several midwestern industrial centers, complete with extensive background interviews and other research materials; community studies conducted nationwide on the influx of women to industrial centers during the war; and subject files and correspondence on women's work in war industries, including issues like equal pay and child care. The Correspondence of the Director of the Women's Army Corps dates from 1942–1946 and documents the women who joined and served in the Women's Army Corps (WAC, known as the Women's Army Auxiliary Corps [WAAC] from May 1942 until July 1943) during World War II. Every topic of importance to the WAC is covered in the correspondence, with an emphasis on issues such as recruiting, public support for the WAC, personnel matters like discipline and conduct, and race.

Documenting the experiences of women in the Weather Bureau during World War II. (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)

A site in development that will eventually offer access to 2,000 digitized books and pamphlets, manuscripts (10,000 pages) and images (1,000) from the Harvard collections. Those working on this project are interested in your feedback. There is a question/comment link on the site. (Harvard University Library Open Collections Program)

These collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College consist of three distinct series of collections from the Schlesinger Library: voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights. The voting rights papers include documentation of national, regional, and local leaders. National leaders featured in this module include Carrie Chapman Catt, Matilda Joslyn Gage, Helen Hamilton Gardener, Julia Ward Howe, Alma Lutz, Anna Howard Shaw, and Lucy Stone. Papers of regional and local leaders include Harriet Burton Laidlaw, Helen Barten Owens, Clementina Rhodes Hartshorne, Mary Garrett Hay, Nellie Nugemt Somerville, Lucy Somerville Howorth, Margaret Foley, Grace Allen Johnson, and Olympia Brown. On the topic of national politics, major collections are those of Molly Dewson, Emma Guffey Miller, Sue Shelton White, Jeannette Rankin, and Jessica Weis. Collections on reproductive rights are the Schlesinger Library Family Planning Oral History Project, and the papers of Mary Ware Dennett and the Voluntary Parenthood League.

Includes over 200 pieces of sheet music spanning the years 1838-1923, over half of which highlight women's emerging voices and suffrage efforts; the collection includes published rally songs and songsters written and compiled by notable composers and suffragists, as well as music manuscripts submitted for copyright deposit by everyday citizens.