Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Over five million records describing archival materials. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, this database helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Currently the Libraries offer 28 collections.
Center For Research Libraries
Provides primary source materials to its members through extended loans or “on demand” digitization. Since CMU is a member, you can request items from them via interlibrary loan
The HathiTrust a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods. Text-mine (full text search) over 10 million digitized works and create customized collections.
Access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Search or browse digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials. Database Guide
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Searches can be limited to archival materials by checking the appropriate box in the "Limit type to" section of the database.
National Archives Catalog
The online public portal to our records and information about our records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.
AAD: Access to Archival Databases (U. S. National Archives)
Online access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in NARA. NARA has selected less than 1% of the data files in its holdings for public searching through AAD. NARA selected these data because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses.
Archives Portal Europe
Information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.
Independent not-for-profit library services organisation supported by the Conference of European National Librarians (CENL), whose mission is to be THE open data hub for library data in Europe. Works to strengthen and support libraries across the continent. Member libraries benefit from a powerful, low-cost aggregation structure enabling a greater exposure of digital resources and bibliographic records. "We collect, enrich and innovate with libraries' data and content for the widest possible dissemination."
Archeo BiblioBase: Archives in Russia
Displays data about nearly 400 archives and manuscript repositories of the Russian Federation (with an additional 70 administering agencies) for which coverage has recently been updated.
Describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Use the repository search to find archives in various locales.
Over four million records describing archival materials. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies. Use the search location or zip to find archives in a particular locale, or open the arrows next to the state name.
Printed Archival Guides
Articles Describing Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States: an Annotated Bibliography.
DeWitt, Donald L.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
HUNT Stacks-2 CD3022 .A2 D478 1997Sample pages
Guides to Archives and Manuscript Collections in the United States: an Annotated Bibliography.
DeWitt, Donald L.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1994.
HUNT Stacks-2 CD3022 .A2 D48 1994Sample pages
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies