Over five million records describing archival materials. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, this database helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
The Digital Public Library of America is a free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Materials in the collection include photographs, books, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.
DPLA can be searched by time or place, browsed through a virtual bookshelf or by curated exhibits, and also is a platform to be built upon through apps and widgets.
Digitized books, journals, and government documents from all countries and time periods. Text-mine (full text search) over 17 million digitized works and create customized collections. HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries. Offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Access to millions of primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history. Search or browse digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials. Database Guide
The online public portal to our records and information about our records. The catalog currently provides access to over 2 million electronic records currently in the Electronic Records Archives (ERA), which are not available elsewhere online.
Online access to records in a small selection of historic databases preserved permanently in NARA. NARA has selected less than 1% of the data files in its holdings for public searching through AAD. NARA selected these data because the records identify specific persons, geographic areas, organizations, and dates. The records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research uses.
Independent not-for-profit library services organisation supported by the Conference of European National Librarians (CENL), whose mission is to be THE open data hub for library data in Europe. Works to strengthen and support libraries across the continent. Member libraries benefit from a powerful, low-cost aggregation structure enabling a greater exposure of digital resources and bibliographic records. "We collect, enrich and innovate with libraries' data and content for the widest possible dissemination."
Describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland. Use the repository search to find archives in various locales.
Over four million records describing archival materials. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies. Use the search location or zip to find archives in a particular locale, or open the arrows next to the state name.
Contact details for record repositories in the United Kingdom and also for institutions elsewhere in the world which have substantial collections of manuscripts noted under the indexes to the National Register of Archives.
The Archives Service Center (ASC) is the repository for manuscript and record collections that document the history of Pittsburgh and the Western Pennsylvania region, including the University of Pittsburgh.
On leave until Dec. 2023. For assistance in History, contact CMU Librarian Ashley Werlinich, liaison librarian for English, Drama, and temporary liaison for History. For assistance in Modern Languages, use our general feedback forms.