Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
All databases offer links to full text retrieval options if the full text is not immediately provided. It's impossible to recommend the best database(s) without knowing your topic. The following are those most likely to have relevant materials. Ask for help if you are not finding articles on your topic. You can also see the Articles and Databases listed alphabetically and by disciplines.
America: History & Life with Full Text
(Carnegie Mellon users only)
The definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Most importantly, you can specify down to the decade the time period you want to cover.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
(Carnegie Mellon uses only)
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Most importantly, you can specify down to the decade the time period you want to cover.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
1951-present (Carnegie Mellon users only)
Bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.
Carnegie Mellon users only.
Journal articles in all subjects, covering a range of dates except the most recent 5-3 years for most journals.
ca. 2000-present. Carnegie Mellon users only.
Search/browse journal articles in a variety of subjects. No deep backfile-good to use in conjunction with JSTOR.