LibGuides Toolkit: For Committee Members

We agreed that new databases would remain on the list for 6 months (exception for new databases added in April-July which would remain on list for 6 months). Updates should be made in the first week of the month. Database listing creation dates can be found in LibApps by searching for new/trial databases and exporting the list. [Minutes 1/24/17]

Review schedule:

January - March: Ryan
April - June: Matt
July - September: Ethan
October - December: Sue
 

The group decided to use the end dates offered when creating database pages for trials, etc., so formal review is no longer necessary.

CMU Libraries uses EZproxy and OpenAthens for resources that require authentication.

System-wide Proxy
Because Springshare allows for only one proxy to be configured, we're using EZproxy. Selecting 'use proxy' adds this EZproxy prefix to the base URL: https://cmu.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

EZproxy
Add resource base URL and use proxy

OpenAthens
Manually add OpenAthens links to the A-Z list, and do not use proxy.

There are various OpenAthens URL types with examples:

• OpenAthens Redirector URL (https://go.openathens.net/redirector/cmu.edu?url=)
  Most resources use the redirector. See CMU's Redirector Generator to test URLs for compatibility.
  See example links
   
• OpenAthens Proxy URL (https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=)
  See example links
   
• Vendor URLs with Customer ID
  (ProQuest, EBSCOhost, Ebook Central, Gale, O'Reilly, Kanopy, PolicyMap)
  See example links

Contact the eResources team by email or this form with linking questions.

ProQuest Databases: Naming consistency- We decided it is not necessary to add ProQuest to databases names. No changes will be made to current names.

In order for a specialist's profile box to appear publicly on the website, the group has decided that the following criteria must be met:

1. The LibGuide owner must have at least one published LibGuide.  Users who are listed as guide editors should add links to these guides on their Profile Page (if possible).

2. The specialist must include their title, contact info, and an image.

We decided:

Rep(s) from E&S will add the engineering and science databases

Rep(s) from Hunt Ref will add the humanities and social sciences databases

Rep(s) from Fine Arts will add the drama, art, architecture,music, design databases

Database descriptions will begin with a capitalized letter, and titles contained in any description will be italicized.

Database descriptions will not begin with the name of the database.

Subjects

• To create a Subject: Admin -> Metadata & URLs
• Subjects correspond to both Research Guides and Databases A-Z. However, a subject will not display in search options unless it has been assigned to a research guide and/or database.

Types

• To create a Type: Content -> Settings -> Database Types

TBD

2022: Ryan (Jan - June), TBD