Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cross-Cultural Business Communication Research: Research Your Topic

Research Databases & E-Resources

Save Time

Before you even start searching for sources related to your topic, you may wish to link Google Scholar to CMU's Library holdings so that you can search the web and the library simultaneously (How?). Alternatively, you can search them each separately:

 

Additionally, below are listed a few targeted electronic resources which might lead you more quickly to information around issues in cross-cultural business communication


EBSCOhostBusiness Source Premier is a database produced by EBSCO which offers both scholarly and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; as well as industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports. A special note is that this database provides access to the Harvard Business Review.


Related imageABI/Inform is a database produced by ProQuest which offers material very similar to Business Source Premier, above (BSP and ABI/Inform are competing products from competing companies). Like BSP, it offers both scholarly and trade journals as well as magazines, data and reports on many business issues.


Image result for alexander street pressInternational Business Online includes materials on culture in international business for use in Education, from Alexander Street Press.

 

 


EmeraldInsightEmerald Management Research Collection includes many case studies on cross-cultural business communication, using real cases like Google in China, Chiquita in Colombia and others.

Research on Specific Countries and Cultures

Books and Ebooks

Here are a few sample resources you might explore. Many are e-books.

View Table of Contents for The Blackwell Handbook of Cross‐Cultural ManagementThe Blackwell Handbook of Cross-Cultural Management. 2017. This is the first handbook to provide an overview of the major theoretical perspectives in cross-cultural management and to look at how they can be applied to real-world situations.

 

 


Image result for proquest ebook centralProQuest Ebook Central. A large, multidisciplinary collection of academic eBooks with titles related to business and culture.

 


Passport to Success : The Essential Guide to Business Culture and Customs in America's Largest Trading Partners Cover ImagePassport to Success: The Essential Guide to Business Culture and Customs in America's Largest Trading Partners.
2009.