LibGuides: Psychology: 85-340: Research Methods in Social Psychology: Databases

Databases

The databases below are those most relevant for finding materials on personality and health topics. If the full text of the article isn't provided, use the icon to find full text retrieval options. Since PubMed and Google Scholar are free resources, they need some configuring in order to be able to link to any CMU licensed materials, such as full text journals. For Google Scholar, see Configure your Google Scholar Settings. For Pub Med, create an NCBI account to be able to use the Outside Tool to link to resources. The video My NCBI: Selecting Your Outside Tool Preference had detailed instructions. If any journal link takes you to a pay option, do NOT pay!! We can get materials for you at no charge via the our interlibrary loan services. See the If We Don't Have What You Need tab for options.

Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide. Also see definitions of methodologies.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
PsycCRITIQUES This link opens in a new window
1956-2017. Produced by the American Psychological Association, full text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." - About Google Scholar
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.