Worldcat (FirstSearch interface through University Libraries)
Note that results may differ between this interface and the free version below. I find the FirstSearch interface results to be more comprehensive, but feel free to search both and use what works best for you.
Worldcat.org (free version)
Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)
Oxford Art Online
If your topic crosses over into art you may want to search Oxford Art Online as well. I noticed there is an article for John Cage in both Oxford Art and Oxford Music. The content differs enough that depending on your focus one might be better than the other for your topic. There is also an article on 'music and art' in Oxford Art but there isn't a comparable article in Oxford Music. There is an article in Oxford Music for Impressionism that could be useful if you're more interested in composers who contributed to that movement.
Music Index with Full Text
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for scholarly articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Covers 1967-present.
Library of Congress Classification Outline A-Z
CMU Library Catalog (select Browse by Library of Congress call numbers from the drop-down menu)
I suggest databases below but found CLP's CD collection to be better after trying a few sample searches for bagpipe music, polkas, and Javanese gamelan. CDs accompany the Global Music Series we have to get you started.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Naxos Music Library (look for Categories tab on the left, then World)
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance (Online)
Student Academic Success Center
1st floor of Posner Hall
Communication Support has trained consultants who are ready to help you with any kind of written, verbal, or visual project. If you're conveying ideas to another person, we'll help you make sure those ideas are clear and communicated effectively.
They offer free communication consulting Monday through Friday, and free workshops regularly throughout the semester. These services are available for any CMU undergraduate or graduate student from any discipline, as well as faculty and staff members.
Request books, scores, recordings, or journal articles that we don't have. Items generally arrive in 7-10 business days. Journal articles arrive in PDF format in your e-mail in 2-3 business days.
Request books and scores only through this service. Items generally arrive in 3-5 business days. It can be faster than ILLiad since materials are coming from libraries in PA or states surrounding PA.
A free open source reference management tool that makes saving and citing resources, including websites, YouTube videos, news articles, journal articles and scholarly database results, a breeze.