Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: 57-306/806: World Music: Start

GARLAND ENCYCLOPEDIA OF WORLD MUSIC

 

 

Online Access to all 9 vols. + recordings!

GLOBAL MUSIC SERIES

CAMBRIDGE CONCISE HISTORIES

GREENWOOD HISTORIES OF THE MODERN NATIONS

GENERAL WORLD MUSIC BOOKS

Explore what isn't in Google

CMU Library Catalog

Worldcat (FirstSearch interface through University Libraries)
Note that results may differ between this interface and the free version below. I find the FirstSearch interface results to be more comprehensive, but feel free to search both and use what works best for you.

 

Worldcat.org (free version)

Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)


Oxford Art Online
If your topic crosses over into art you may want to search Oxford Art Online as well. I noticed there is an article for John Cage in both Oxford Art and Oxford Music. The content differs enough that depending on your focus one might be better than the other for your topic. There is also an article on 'music and art' in Oxford Art but there isn't a comparable article in Oxford Music. There is an article in Oxford Music for Impressionism that could be useful if you're more interested in composers who contributed to that movement.

Music Index
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for scholarly articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Covers 1967-present.

Hunt Library - Requesting Books

Hunt Library - Browse the Stacks Online

Ideas for multi-media examples

SOUND

I suggest databases below but found CLP's CD collection to be better after trying a few sample searches for bagpipe music, polkas, and Javanese gamelan. CDs accompany the Global Music Series we have to get you started. 

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library)
Use the barcode on the back of your public library card to access from home.
Contemporary World MusicThis resource aims to deliver “the sounds of all regions from every continent.”
Smithsonian Global Sound: Listen to world, folk and traditional music online.

Hunt Library
Naxos Music Library (look for Genres tab, then World)


VIDEO

Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh (public library)
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance (DVD)

Hunt Library
The video collection is located on the 2nd floor. NOTE: videos do not circulate to students. Dr. Woloshyn could check this out for you if you want to use the VHS version. CLP has DVD format.
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance (VHS)

YouTube

Presentation Help

Global Communications Center
1st floor of Posner Hall
"Provides free consulting for the CMU community. Our trained communication consultants help CMU students, faculty, and staff convey their ideas logically, clearly, and effectively in one-on-one sessions, and classroom workshops. Whether it's written, verbal, or visual, get a second set of eyes on your project. Our expert feedback will help you write and present more effectively."

 

Interlibrary Loan

ILLiad
Request books, scores, recordings, or journal articles that we don't have. Items generally arrive in 7-10 business days. Journal articles arrive in PDF format in your e-mail in 2-3 business days.

EZ-Borrow
‚Äč
Request books only through this service. It can be faster than ILLiad since materials are coming from libraries in PA or states surrounding PA. Your login is the 9-digit number on your CMU ID card.