Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
provides you useful information on energy innovation and entrepreneurship.
Leadership Connect (formerly Leadership Library) This link opens in a new window
Finds executives in corporations and financial institutions, government, associations, non-profits, law firms, judicial and foreign representatives, and the media.
U.S. Government reports
Agencies of the federal government often support entrepreneurial
efforts, and produce market-oriented reports, in their areas. Do a
google search ending in "site:.gov" to limit to governmental sources. Examples:
Find industry leaders, statistics, current status, future trends, histories and profiles here.
Alternative Energy eTrack - now called GlobalData Power This link opens in a new window
Covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes news, deals, analysis, forecasts, and more. NOTE: Click on the "If you have IP access click here" link.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
Market research reports for industries, specializing in advanced materials, biotechnology, chemicals, energy, healthcare, sensors, plastics, nanotechnology, and other emerging technologies - but with traditional industries as well.
Gartner Core Research This link opens in a new window
Analysis and forecasting for information technology products and services. (Note: Dataquest reports are not in our subscription).
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Includes access to the Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Global Survey tab within Statista.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.
Industry Wizard Tool: Located under "Expert Tools" allows users to quickly search, query, and save industry ratios, data, and statistics from all IBISWorld reports for benchmarking purposes, strategies, etc. Data is downloadable.
Industry Statistics from the Census Bureau
link to the US Census programs that offer industry statistics
i3 database (trial database)
The database provides information on companies in the energy space. It covers 24,000+ companies' technology, revenue, and track record. The company provides a free 3-day trial. To request the trial: 1. Go to the company's website https://i3connect.com. 2. Click "For Investors & Service Providers". 3. Fill your information and click "Get started". 4. The trial will be sent as a link in an email to the address you provided. Please send your thoughts of the database to Julie Chen (email@example.com)
News sources on markets, industries
Reports on niche or new industries often appear in trade journals - found in these databases. Use search terms such as “market,” “forecast,” “trends,” “overview,” etc. along with your own market identifier, i.e. “transceiver". Example: "A Low-Power Miniaturized 315 MHz Transceiver Module for Biosignal Transmission."
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines; also industry reports.
LexisNexis Academic (now Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
International database: newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, reports, blogs, case law, government documents, broadcasts, and more. Update: LexisNexis Academic has been replaced with Nexis Uni.
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Articles in communications, computer science, engineering, environmental science, IT, operations research, physics and robotics.
MANUFACTURERS & SUPPLIERS
ThomasNet (formerly Thomas Register)
Provides access to the products and services of over 650,000 industrial companies. Can be searched by product category, keyword, brand name, or company name.
1. Select "Supplier Discovery"
2. Type in your product to get a list of suppliers
Demographics and characteristics of consumer markets
Assessing your market means finding the potential revenue for a product or service - and there are many ways to do this, including primary research (interviews, surveys) and secondary research (reports, statistics, articles.)
We can help with the secondary research:
- Locate an Industry Overview
- Find analysis in articles in the News Sources box on this page (i.e. use "market" and "size" with your keywords)
- Research your customer base in the Demographics box
- Use government statistics such as - the Annual Survey of Manufacturers Value of Products Shipments, which covers several thousand individual products.