Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The exact databases you'll use for your topic will of course vary by topic, but here are those most likely to be useful:
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Also has a U.S. and Canadian history counterpart, America: History and Life. You can also search America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Compilation of the most important historical documents and legislation related to immigration in the United States as well as current hearings, debates and recent developments in immigration law. This first comprehensive database includes Board of Immigration Appeals, Precedent Decisions, legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers.
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
1952-present. Covers the the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Database Guide
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Covers international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Database Guide