Government documents contain a wealth of information on all subjects. Below are some books that can help with government documents. Federal government information is made available for free public use in federal depository libraries located throughout the United States and its territories. In Pittsburgh, the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh and the Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh, are both federal depository libraries. Even though the University Libraries are not a federal depository, they still can provide you with a wealth of information. If you need help with government documents, don't hesitate to Ask Us.
Eight Centuries is a vast scholarly database for finding published material, with the scope of the bulk of searchable material extending from the 12th century through 1960. Some records from before and after these dates do exist, depending on the particular source being searched. Through enhancement and implementation of dozens of historically significant scholarly indexes, it offers multidisciplinary coverage of primary materials in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Engineering, History of Science, Law, Economics, Religion, Psychology, Government Documents, Visual Arts, Music, and the Physical Sciences. Includes many historic maps.
Translations or transcriptions of intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories
Legal research database, with numerous libraries covering congressional publications, law publications, treaties, etc.
Collection of documents related to Homeland Security from variety of sources including federal, state and local agencies
The world’s largest database for public policy, with more than 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 24,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers. It includes over a million pages of premium content from leading publishers and restored from organizations that have disappeared. The resource includes access to the North American City Reports collection - a collection of over 130,000 city documents from the five hundred largest cities in North America, including various municipal and regional organizations.
Session laws (from inception to present) of all 50 U.S. states as well as Canada, Australia, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and the D.C. Register.
Federal departments and agencies collect data and publish reports, etc. Many may be found via the Catalog of U. S. Government Publications and the Worldcat database. Others can be found by searching or browsing the department or agency website.
If you have any questions or need additional help, please fill out the following form and a librarian will be in contact with you!