CMU LibGuides: Government Documents (United States): Federal Court/Agency Decisions

Federal Court Cases

U.S. Supreme Court Library This link opens in a new window
The only complete coverage of the official U.S. Reports from 1754-2007. The U.S. Reports are the official record of the rulings, orders, case tables, and other proceedings of the Supreme Court of the United States. Other notable titles in this library include the Constitution of the United States of America, Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, U.S. Reports Preliminary Prints, U.S. Reports Slip Opinions, and many more historic works related to the Supreme Court of the United States!
U.S. Attorney General Opinions This link opens in a new window
Includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice).
Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
U.S. Indian claims from 1789-present. Database Guide

GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions This link opens in a new window
Contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included. Products that are restricted or classified are not included. GAO Comptroller General Decisions contains decisions and opinions issued by the Comptroller General in areas of federal law such as appropriations, bid protests, and federal agency rulemaking. Database Guide
U.S. Attorney General Opinions This link opens in a new window
Includes the official opinions of the U.S. Attorney General (both the Official Opinions of the Attorneys General of the United States as well as the Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States Department of Justice).
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals This link opens in a new window
Reports, decisions, and records of the official case law of some of the most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes more than 65 GPO best selling legal titles.

Executive orders are also published in the Federal Register. See Federal Regulations for Federal Register searching options.

Executive Orders (HeinOnline)
From March 14, 1936 through current; coverage begins with 1 FR 1. Search "executive orders" and/or any keywords or use filters on the left to narrow search results.
Homeland Security-Related Executive Orders
Selected homeland security-related presidential declarations from Franklin D. Roosevelt to Barack Obama.
Executive Orders (National Archives)
1994->

If you have any questions or need additional help, please fill out the following form and a librarian will be in contact with you!