CMU LibGuides: History: 79-200: Introduction to Historical Research & Writing: The Slave Experience: Newspapers During the American Slavery Period

Newspapers During the American Slavery Period

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media, totaling almost 1200 titles.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
More than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century This link opens in a new window
Full text of 7 major 19th century African American newspapers from 1827-1870.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search or browse newspapers from a particular state or date. Use the Advanced Search to search particular newspapers in the project. Be aware of the dates of coverage, as they change for each paper.

Historical Newspapers: American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922) This link opens in a new window
The American Hebrew was a weekly Jewish newspaper published in New York City. In 1903 it merged with the Jewish Messenger. The paper covered many topics of Jewish interest internationally. Many prominent Jewish writers and communal workers in the United States have been contributors to its pages.
Historical Newspapers: American Israelite (1854 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Longest-running English-language Jewish newspaper still published in the United States. The newspaper's two goals were to spread the principles of Reform Judaism, and to keep American Jews in touch with Jewish affairs and their religious identity.
Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992) This link opens in a new window
Founded by Arunah Shepherdson Abell as a paper devoted to the news that most directly affected the lives of its readers, The Baltimore Sun’s history is among the most distinguished in American journalism. It represented this bustling port city by reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, Washington D.C. politics
Historical Newspapers: Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009) This link opens in a new window
When the Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, the thriving city – the nation’s 6th largest in the mid-19th century - was known as “The Queen of the West.” A remarkable period of rapid growth, epitomizing the expansive spirit of the country at large, gave this paper a unique perspective to report on
international, national and regional news.
Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999) This link opens in a new window
The leading newspaper in the region. The newspaper rose to prominence as Detroit became a major trading post and industrial hub.
Historical Newspapers: Louisville Courier Journal (1830 - 2000) This link opens in a new window
Award-winning in-depth coverage of the pivotal people and events who shaped the local region, and made an impact on the rest of the world. In the early decades of the 20th century, the Courier-Journal became a forum for conflict when it was purchased by liberal Robert Worth Bingham whose views clashed with the longtime conservative editor, Henry Watterson. The paper went on to become a progressive voice in southern politics, championing causes such as public education, equal rights for blacks and advocating for the poor of Appalachia.
Historical Newspapers: Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002) This link opens in a new window
Provides unique historical insight into the regional issues and concerns, such as local government, industrialization, prohibition, and racial struggles. This diverse, easily-accessible primary source material is an invaluable tool for effective research by users in almost any field.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851 - ca. current minus 3 years) This link opens in a new window
Historical access to major U.S. newspaper, often considered the "newspaper of record." For current issues, 1980-present, use this. Fully searchable digital images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here.
Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Inquirer, 1860-2001 This link opens in a new window
One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, the Philadelphia Inquirer is known for its coverage of the American Civil War, its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allan Poe, and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world. Important Note: This database is currently under construction. Some dates and full text may not be available. Forthcoming in 2017 the database will cover 1829-2009.
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, 1786-2003 This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette from 1786-2003. For other years, search the library catalog.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Search and display the full text of the Times (London), a major English language European newspaper