CMU LibGuides: History: 79-200: Introduction to Historical Research & Writing: The Slave Experience: Background

Background

American Slave Revolts and Conspiracies: a Reference Guide
Examines 10 representative revolts and offers narratives, primary materials, chronologies and biographies of participants. Also contains an annotated bibliography of print and online primary and secondary sources for students seeking material for research papers and projects, as well as an examination of fictional depictions of slave revolts in novels and film.
Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
Credo Reference: Slavery
Historical Dictionary of Slavery and Abolition
Link is to online options. Also in print: HUNT STACKS-2 HT861 .K54 2014

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with precise search and browse capabilities. Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with specially written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies.
Includes Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, Second Edition, African American National Biography
Dictionary of African Biography, and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.

If we don't have the books you need, there are some options for getting them. See the If We don't Have What You Need: Books tab above.

CMU's library catalog.
Find books, some government documents, audio and visual material (DVDs, CDs), titles of journals, but NOT journal articles, unless you search the "Everything" or "Articles and More" tabs. Your CMU ID is your library card.
Pittcat
Catalog of the University of Pittsburgh, use it to find books, government documents, titles of journals but NOT journal articles. You can borrow materials by getting a special patron borrowing card at the Hillman Library Circulation Desk.
Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Catalog of Pittsburgh's public library, use it to find books, government documents, audio and visual material and titles of journals and magazines, but NOT journal and magazine articles. Get a Library Card
HathiTrust
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains over 48 million records, covering all materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries around the world.