LibGuides: Social & Decision Sciences: 88-252 Causal Inference in the Field : Finding data

Google Dataset Search

Try Google's dataset search. Search the web for datasets on any topic.

Commercial data aggregators

The library offers access to a number of commercial products that aim to facilitate the discovery and use of data from public and private sources.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Includes access to the Consumer Insights (formerly Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Insights > Explore Consumer Insights within Statista.
DataPlanet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference also available for basic retrieval.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
is a multi-disciplinary statistics database that indexes statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

SAGE Stats This link opens in a new window
Features data series created from more than 50,000 government and non-government datasets, covering popular topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. Database has been retired and statistics are now incorporated into the DataPlanet database. Link redirects there.
eMarketer (now Insider Intelligence) This link opens in a new window
New platform includes access to eMarketer content and Business Insider Intelligence content. eMarketer offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. It focuses on understanding how consumers spend their time and money online and how marketers can best communicate with them via digital channels. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media and entertainment.

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers a wealth of video tutorials and courses to learn software, creative and business skills. As a CMU affiliate, you can access and use LinkedIn Learning for free. For more information, visit the CMU LinkedIn Learning page.

CARMA

The Center for Behavioral and Decision Research sponsors a university membership to CARMA (the Consortium for the Advancement of Research Methods and Analysis). CARMA provides webinars from leading industry methodologists in the social and organizational sciences.

To access their content, go to carmattu.com and create a free account using your andrew.cmu email address.

Local and Regional Data

Western PA Regional Data Center
"The Data Center maintains Allegheny County and the City of Pittsburgh’s open data portal, and provides a number of services to data publishers and users. The Data Center also hosts datasets from these and other public sector agencies, academic institutions, and non-profit organizations."
Allegheny County Analytics
Provided by the Allegheny Country Dept of Human Services, this portal provides data sets, publications, visualizations and more to support data analytics for topics related to populations and services in Allegheny County.
Allegheny County GIS Open Data
For spatial data sets related to Allegheny County, including a broad range of topic areas from health and social services to business and the environment.
Open Data Pennsylvania
The state of Pennsylvania's open data portal. Provides access to data at the state and county level across a broad range of topics.

United States Statistics

US Census
This is the home page of the US Census website. From here, you can find quick links to frequently sought after data and statistics, and links to more information about the US Census. The US Census has many data collection program including the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, Current Population Survey, Survey of Business Owners and more.
US Census Data Portal
This is the main portal to the data and statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Includes voluminous demographic data on the U.S. from national to zip code level.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED is a database maintained by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It contains thousands of economic time series and covers topics including banking, consumer price indexes, exchange rates, interest rates and much more. It includes some international information.
Data.gov
The US government's open data portal. Provides a one-stop location for searching data from across US government agencies and branches.

RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.

Population Reference Bureau
PRB provides instant summaries, both graphically and in text, of the demographic features of the U.S. population. Data can be customized by users on such topics as population estimates and projections, race and ethnicity, migration, income and poverty, the elderly population, and more. The data also may be downloaded.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visual and numerical presentation of U.S. census data and a wide range of demographic information, 1790 – present. Creates maps and reports at levels from national to block group.

International Statistics

Country Statistical Yearbooks
This guide from the University of Wisconsin provides a thorough list of links to the statistical yearbooks or similar collection of 154 countries. Yearbooks typically include economic and demographic data and indicators.

Cross-National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time Series Data Archive was originally established to provide access to the longitudinal data from The Statesmen's Yearbook. The Archive now houses annual data from 200 countries dating back to 1815 on a range of topics related to social science research, including topics such as urbanization, transportation, economics and much more.

Demographic and Health Surveys
The DHS programs collects and disseminates on populations, health, HIV and nutrition for over 90 countries.
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies."
Global Health Data Exchange
A comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data from around the world. Maintained by the Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
Global Health Observatory
The World Health Organization provides this portal to access data and statistics related to issues of global health.
Interational Statistical Agencies
Many statistics are gathered by governments at the country level. This page provides a list of links to statistical agencies around the world.
OECD iLibrary Statistics
Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.
UN Data
This site provides a portal into the wealth of data and statistics collected by the United Nations. Topics covered include health, demography, migration, employment, income, trade and much more.
World DataBank
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical. You can also search their microdata catalog .

Public Opinion and Polling

The Roper Center Public Opinion Research Archive
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. Click here for a quick link to Roper's questions and data on leisure activities.
Pew Global Attitudes Project Key Indicators Database
Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. This site offers online data analysis and raw data download.
Pew Internet & American Life
"The Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project aims to be an authoritative source on the evolution of the internet through surveys that examine how Americans use the internet and how their activities affect their lives."
The Gallup Organization
The Gallup site contains polling results from 1997 to the present. These reports include a summary, the questions asked, and the results for specific questions.

Sources for Microdata

Microdata are data for which the statistical units are individual people or objects. These data have not yet been aggregated into statistics about groups, and thus can be downloaded, manipulated, used in statistical models, etc. Below are a few sources for large population and economic microdata sets.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
The ICPSR archive includes studies from the social sciences and related disciplines, including significant international datasets. Since Carnegie Mellon is a member of ICPSR, faculty and students can order data free of charge. Data files can be downloaded directly to your on-campus workstation from the web site.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS--University of Minnesota - Minnesota Population Center)
IPUMS-USA provides microdata on the American population drawn from the federal censuses and American Community Survey from 1850 to the present. IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. IPUMS also provides custom data extracts from numerous other surveys and censuses.
World Bank Microdata Catalog
The World Bank provides access to microdata for many of its surveys and data collection efforts around the world. You can limit your search of the catalog to open and public use data sets or search the entire collection.
ResearchDataGov
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from federal statistical agencies.

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
On the Web of Science (WoS), this provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. Find the Data Citation Index database on the WoS homepage from the top dropdown menu next to Search.